Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 19, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP chief Rajnath Singh announces new team

While retaining Kalyan Singh, the party chief also decided to continue with Pramod Mahajan and Arun Jaitley.

india Updated: Jan 25, 2006 18:50 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

Former UP Chief Minister Kalyan Singh was on Wednesday retained as BJP Vice-President in a new team of office-bearers chosen by Rajnath Singh.

The party chief also decided to continue with Pramod Mahajan and Arun Jaitley as General Secretaries.

Former Delhi Chief Minister Sahib Singh Verma and RSS veteran Bal Apte were also named among the nine vice-presidents.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, who also retained his position as a party Vice-President, told reporters that Pramod Mahajan, Arun Jaitley and Ananth Kumar would continue to serve as BJP General Secretaries under the new leadership.

The party leaders Thavar Chand Gehlot, Vinay Katiyar and Om Prakash Mathur were also named party General Secretaries.

Rajnath Singh also chose former Union Minister Shanta Kumar, former Jharkhand Chief Minister Babulal Marandi and party leaders L Ganeshan and Sumitra Mahajan as vice-presidents.

Former Union Ministers Vijay Goel and Shahnawaz Hussain found a slot as party secretaries under the new leadership, Naqvi said.

First Published: Jan 25, 2006 18:47 IST