India to host 2011 cricket WC final | india | Hindustan Times
  • Thursday, Jul 19, 2018
  •   °C  
Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 19, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India to host 2011 cricket WC final

Bangladesh will host the opening ceremony, while Pakistan and Sri Lanka will stage the semi-final games in the joint World Cup tournament.

india Updated: Jul 09, 2006 15:48 IST

India will stage the cricket World Cup final in 2011 while Bangladesh will host the opening ceremony, a Pakistan Cricket Board official revealed on Saturday.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka will stage semi-finals games, PCB director Abbas Zaidi said, releasing details of the mega event hosted by the four nations.

Zaidi said that details were decided after a meeting in London earlier this week and reflects 'coordination among the South Asian countries.'

They won the rights in May this year to hold the World Cup, beating a joint bid from Australia and New Zealand, with the International Cricket Council executive board confirming the win at this week's meeting.

Officials of the South Asian countries met on the sidelines of the ICC meeting to finalise arrangements, Zaidi said.

India will host 22 matches with Pakistan staging 16, Sri Lanka nine and Bangladesh six, he said.

"It was a unanimous decision and since Pakistan hosted the 1996 World Cup final it was India's turn on a rotational basis," said Zaidi.

The quadrennial World Cup was initiated in 1975 with England hosting the first event. England also played host in 1979 and 1983 before Pakistan and India jointly staged the event in 1987.

Australia and New Zealand co-hosted the event in 1992 before it returned to the sub-continent with Pakistan, India and Sri Lanka staging the 1996 event.

The 2007 World Cup will be held in the West Indies.