Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

india Updated: Oct 28, 2003 13:19 IST

Name: M.Chinnaswamy Stadium

Also or formerly known as: Karnataka State Cricket Association Stadium

Capacity: 35,000

End names: Pavilion End, BEML End

The Karnataka State Cricket Association Stadium, later renamed after M. Chinnaswamy (Board President from 1977-80) was accorded Test status in the 1974/75 season against the West Indies. And it was in this stadium that two young men by the names of Gordon Greenidge and Viv Richards made their debut during the same series.

Memorable records on this ground include: Debutant Yajurvindra Singh equalling the Test records for the most catches in an innings (5) and match (7) during England’s tour of India in the 1976/77 season. And an innings of 172 from Sunil Gavaskar in the 1983/84 Test against Pakistan lasting 708 minutes (still the longest Test innings by an Indian) which set a unique record as being the first innings with no balls or wides credited to the bowler's analysis.

In the 1988–89 season Richard Hadlee reached his 374th wicket (Arun Lal) succeeding Ian Botham as the highest wicket taker in Test history. And five years later Kapil Dev equalled Hadlee’s record tally of 431 wickets off the last ball of the Test against Sri Lanka in 1993/94. Azharuddin became the second Indian after Gavaskar to take a hundred catches in Tests. And it was on this ground that Gavaskar played his farewell knock in a Test match against Pakistan in 1987.

The highest individual score at the Chinnaswamy stadium is Sachin Tendulkar's 177 against Australia in 1997-98.

The pitch has been re-laid this year and it will be interesting to see how the new pitch will behave. Talks have been there that this pitch is a faster one than the earlier one, which was more batsman-friendly.

First Published: Oct 22, 2003 16:37 IST