Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MLAs to serve legal notice

Courts in their respective orders have said MLAs will continue as members of the Vidhan Sabha.

india Updated: Apr 13, 2006 12:05 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent

FIVE MLAS of the breakaway BSP group are planning to serve legal notice to Rajendra Singh Rana and Yogesh Pratap Singh over the disqualification petition submitted to the Assembly Speaker.

Terming the petition as unlawful, the five MLAs , who have returned to the BSP-fold —Jaivir Singh, Surendra Vikram Singh, Dharampal Singh, Ramkrishna and Ramji Shukla —said in view of the Allahabad High Court order (Feb 28) and the Supreme Court order (March 24) they had resigned from the ministerial posts and informed the Speaker that they belonged to the BSP.

Both the courts in their respective orders have said that the MLAs will continue as members of the Vidhan Sabha. The court has also stayed all the proceedings before the Speaker regarding disqualification of the MLAs of the breakaway group. Now, he could not entertain any petition regarding their disqualification, they said.

Jaivir said Rana and Singh had deliberately submitted the petition to the Speaker about their disqualification. Both the leaders should withdraw the petition immediately and apologise for the misdemeanor.

First Published: Apr 13, 2006 11:51 IST