New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Nov 01, 2020-Sunday



Select Country
Select city
Home / India / Mumbaikars elects 11 five-star candidates in BMC election

Mumbaikars elects 11 five-star candidates in BMC election

Out of the total 75 candidates with five star ratings only 11 have managed to win, reports Uma Upadhyaya.

india Updated: Feb 03, 2007, 23:27 IST
Uma Upadhyaya
Uma Upadhyaya

It seems that voters of Mumbai have not cared to vote on the basis of star ratings provided with Action for good Governance and Networking in India (AGNI)- a NGO that was involved with providing information to the public about educated candidates with a clean image.

For the elections to the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) held on February 1, Mumbaikars have elected 21 out of 64 candidates, who have criminal cases pending against them.

And of the total 75 candidates with five star ratings only 11 have managed to win. And ironically in many of the wards, they have been also defeated by candidates with one-star or two star ratings.

Out of this, maximum, 15 are from the Sena, 2 from the Congress, one each from NCP and BJP. Two candidates who contested on Independent ticket have also managed to win.

Only 5 out of 11 five-star rating candidates fielded by the Shiv Sena managed to get elected. Among the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) candidates that had fielded 7 five-star candidates, only 3 of them have become corporators.

Three corporators of Congress out of 8 five-star candidates have won. All of these are from suburbs and only Vijaya Dhulla on the Congress has managed to win from ward A, Churchgate area. "We limited range of things, education, assets and criminal record.

If a citizen who know that they are voting, we cannot do anything about it. There is no way for us in 5-6 days to go into the more details and the candidates had to be accepted at face-value", said Gerson D'Cunha of AGNI.

In ward number 149 in Chembur comprising of areas like Tilak Nagar, Chhedha Nagar and Pestom Sagar who have the best ALM's in the city have elected Rajiv Chaugule of the Sena who was given one-star rating by AGNI.

He managed to clinch a win against two five-star candidates, Avinash Mayekar of the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) and Michael Keny of Republican Party of India (RPI).

In ward number 64, SNDT university-Juhu area, Adbul Barudgar of Congress won
Against Mahadev Pednekar of MNS who was given a five-star rating. "It does matter what ratings have been given. Votes go to people who have done considerable work in their areas", said Shaheen Shaikh, a resident of the constituency.

Pravin Devhare of the Sena with one-star rating won against five-star rating Parag Asgaonkar of the NCP and four-star rating Prakash Patankar of MNS at Shivaji Park, Sena's stronghold.

None of the 8 MNS candidates that were given a five-star rating managed to clinch a win.

According to Shirish Parkar, "We respect the surveys carried out but they give only some indication about the candidates. And people have not really cared to consider these ratings and vote. It is the voters who decide whom to elect and no one can do anything about it".

In ward no 99, Mulund (W), Manoj Kotak of the BJP with one-star ratings managed to defeat Congress candidate Dr RR Singh and a five-star rating candidate Vasant Mamarde who contested on Independent ticket.

Niyaz Vanu of NCP with one star rating won in Antop Hill and Ajit pandit, a senior Sena Corporator with two-star rating got elected from ward no. 183, Matunga. Further, Advocate Deepak Padwal of BJP with 5-star rating lost from ward 96, Pali Hill, Bandra.

ht epaper

Sign In to continue reading