Shubha Mudgal takes the Sufi flight | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Shubha Mudgal takes the Sufi flight

The singer returns after a long hiatus with The Awakening, which marks her first tryst with Sufiana music.

india Updated: Jul 05, 2006 13:30 IST

Renowned classical singer Shubha Mudgal, who evades being musically typecast, transcends most barriers with her latest offering, The Awakening.

Mudgal marks her return after a long gap with a compilation of engrossing Sufi songs. Showing herself open to experimental art forms, she explores Sufi poetry and also attempts Punjabi songs.

The singer, who earlier made her mark with foot-tapping numbers Ali more angana and Ab kesaawan, has tried her hand at various genres - folk, pop and now Sufiana music.

The title track of the album - Main suttirahiyaan - has already made it to the Buddha Bar compilation. The other songs in the album are also highly melodious but may take time to grow in popularity.

The credit for the composition and lyrics goes to DJ Gaurav Issar. The track listings:

1. Main sutti rahiyaan (Awakening)

2. Patjhad

3. Kar Sajda

4. Nadiya

5. Badalon ka

6. Ali O Ali

7. Mati ke pher mrigtrishna

8. Ye subha