Yuvraj, Nehra out of Mohali Test

PTI | ByAgencies, Mohali
Mar 07, 2005 06:51 PM IST

After a light training session, Ganguly announced a list of twelve for the first Pak Test which included three seamers.

Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly said on Monday that Yuvraj Singh and Ashish Nehra would sit out of the first Test against Pakistan starting from Tuesday.

HT Image
HT Image

After a light training session at Mohali, the hosts announced a list of twelve players for the match which included three pacemen — Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan and Lakshmipathy Balaji — and two spinners — Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh.

Stay tuned with breaking news on HT Channel on Facebook. Join Now

Ganguly, however, said composition of team would depend on pitch conditons at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium on Tuesday morning and that the final XI could only be decided then.

"It's good to pick the best eleven after a long time. We'll choose the side that suits the conditions," said Ganguly, who is likely to go into the match with three fast bowlers.

This means that Pathan may be supported by both Zaheer and Balaji, while leg-spinner Kumble will have to operate with part-time bowlers.

The captain's decision must have come as a disappointment for Yuvraj as well as Nehra since both the players were in fine form in recent times.

Yuvraj played crucial roles in North Zone winning the Deodhar Trophy as well as qualifying for the final of the ongoing Duleep Trophy. Nehra had his share of contribution in North's success this season.

The Indian captain did not believe his team would find it easy just because they were more experienced than their rivals.

"True, we are a balanced side but cricket is not played on paper. What matters is how you perform on the field. Pakistan are a young team and we'll have to play really well to win the series," he said.

Pakistani captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, on the otherhand, kept the cards close to his chest as he refused to name the team for the game.

He also said the toss could play a critical role on the fate of the match.

India (from): Sourav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Dinesh Karthik, Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Lakshmipathy Balaji.

Get Latest India News along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, December 12, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now