Congress puts up unity show by felicitating bypoll winners
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress puts up unity show by felicitating bypoll winners

Rajasthan Congress felicitates MPs Karan Singh Yadav, Raghu Sharma and MLA Vivek Dhakar

jaipur Updated: Feb 14, 2018 21:58 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Jaipur
bypoll winners,unity show,Congress
Former CM Ashok Gehlot and state Congress president Sachin Pilot, along with the bypoll winners, at party office in Jaipur on Wednesday.(HT Photo)

The Pradesh Congress Committee on Wednesday felicitated Karan Singh Yadav, Raghu Sharma and Vivek Dhakar, who won from two parliamentary seats of Alwar, Ajmer and on assembly seat from Mandalgarh respectively during the bypolls held on January 29 in Rajasthan.

Apart from felicitating the winners of the bypolls, the first meeting of the coordination committee was also held. All India Congress Committee on February 8 had announced constitution of the committee at the state level.

“AICC president has dedicated the victory in the Rajasthan bypolls to party workers and gave special thanks to the people of the state,” AICC general secretary and in-charge of Rajasthan Avinash Pandey said.

“In the coordination committee meeting, all leaders and party workers discussed strategy for the programmes for the next six months and forthcoming elections. Members gave their suggestions, which will be included for maintaining the unity of the party workers and leaders,” he added.

Former chief minister Ashok Gehlot said, “The Congress is united and the party workers are full of enthusiasm. Without any resources, we won on all three seats in the bypolls, which is a big achievement.”

If the prime minister and chief minister have the misconception that the Congress will not remain united till the forthcoming assembly and parliamentary elections, they should discard it, he added.

PCC chief Sachin Pilot said that BJP is propagating that differences will crop up among Congress leaders and workers, but Congress was, is and will remain united. “We are working towards maintaining enthusiasm and energy of party workers,” said Pilot.

Out of 23 members of the coordination committee, 21 were present. Congress leader CP Joshi and Mohan Prakash did not turn up.

While replying to a question on assembly and general elections to be held together, Pilot said, “No one can claim that both elections will be held together.” He expressed faith that in 2019 general elections, Congress will win on all 25 parliamentary seats in Rajasthan.

First Published: Feb 14, 2018 21:58 IST