Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Wayanad, Kerala - Hindustan Times

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Wayanad, Kerala

Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent
Mar 14, 2019 01:32 PM IST

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Wayanad, Kerala.

Wayanad is among the 20 seats that Kerala sends to the Lok Sabha. A Congress stronghold, the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency was formed as recently as 2008.

A para-military jawan guards stands guard at a facility where EVMs have been stored.(PTI)
A para-military jawan guards stands guard at a facility where EVMs have been stored.(PTI)

The constituency has, in the two elections that it has witnessed (2009 and 2014), always voted for the Congress. However, the Congress may find it to be a tough battle this time around after the death of the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) working president MI Shanavas, who was elected to the Lok Sabha from Wayanad in 2014.

Hindustan Times - your fastest source for breaking news! Read now.

The Congress will have to play its cards right in choosing its candidate from Wayanad if it wants to retain the seat. It is considered to be a safe seat for the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) and that is why it has a too many contenders for the post.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

In the 2014 elections, Shanavas had won over CPI’s Sathyan Mokeri by a margin of 20,870 votes, a far reduced number from 2009 when he had defeated M. Rahmathulla of the Communist Party of India (CPI) by a margin of 1,53,439 votes.

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Wayanad

Sitting MP, Party: MI Shanavas, Congress (He died on November 21, 2018.)

Winning margin in 2014: 20,870

Runner up name, party: Sathyan Mokeri, CPI

Number of voters in 2014: 915,138

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 69

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,073

Number of women voters: 460,706

Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, March 03, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On