Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 23, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Baahubali director SS Rajamouli chosen for ANR award for 2017

Talking about Rajamouli, Nagarjuna said his Baahubali films have been a path-breaking works and made Telugu cinema proud not just in this region but all over the world.

regional movies Updated: Sep 09, 2017 15:48 IST
Sandeep Acharya
Sandeep Acharya
Hindustan Times, Chennai
Baahubali,SS Rajamouli,Akkineni Nageswara Rao National Award 2017
SS Rajamouli is known for his films Magadheera, Maryada Ramanna, Eega/Naan Ee and Baahubali series.

Acclaimed director SS Rajamouli has been chosen for the Akkineni Nageswara Rao (ANR) National Award 2017, instituted by the Akkineni International Foundation. It will be given away in the presence of Hon’ble Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu and Telangana chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao on September 17 at Shilpa Kala Vedika Hyderabad, said Nagarjuna Akkineni, actor and son of Akkineni Nageswara Rao. The award announcement was made in the presence of T Subbirami Reddy and Amala Akkineni on Friday.

The programmes at the awards function would include music, entertainment and students of who are passing out of the Annapurna International School of Film & Media will also get their degrees on the day of the award function. Nagarjuna expressed AISFM school has lived up to the expectation of ANR and it has become the finest destination for Film and Media education. In his address to media, industrialist T Subbarami Reddy, who is chairman of the selection committee, recalled that in the year 2004, when ANR got the prestigious Dada Saheb Phalke Award, he got the idea of instituting recognition to honour those who had dedicated their lives for the development of Indian cinema.

Talking about ‘Baahubali Rajamouli’, Nagarjuna said his film Baahubali: The Beginning and Baahubali: The Conclusion have been a path breaking film and made Telugu cinema proud not just in this region but all over the world. We are proud and honoured to announce the ANR National Award to him. Every year since 2005, the ANR National Awards were being given away, TSR said. Earlier recipients of the award include Dev Anand (2005), Shabana Azmi (2006), Anjali Devi (2007), Vyjayanatimala Bali (2008), Lata Mangeshkar (2009), K Balachander (2010), Hema Malini (2011), Shyam Benegal (2012) and Amitabh Bachchan.

Follow @htshowbiz for more

First Published: Sep 09, 2017 15:22 IST

more from regional movies