Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 16, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India’s six memorable Test victories on English soil

Jul 25, 2018 11:41 IST
about the video

India has registered 6 victories on English soil in their 86-year long Test history. The first Test win came in 1971 at The Oval in London under the captaincy of Ajit Wadekar. BS Chandrasekhar’s 6-wicket haul in the second innings laid the foundation of that victory. The next win came at Lord’s, the home of cricket, 15 years later under the captaincy of Kapil Dev. Dilip Vengsarkar scored his third century at Lord’s to put India in command, while Dev himself rose to the occasion with the ball. India also won the second Test to bag the series 2-0. The fourth win came at Headingley in 2002 as Sourav Ganguly’s India beat England to level the series. The fifth victory was fashioned by a 9-wicket match haul by Zaheer Khan in 2007 at Nottingham as India went on to win the series. The sixth win came at the hallowed turf of Lord’s again, during India’s last tour in 2014. Ishant Sharma’s 7-wicket haul in the second innings was the catalyst of that victory.