Delhi: Metro line to Badli opens today | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Delhi: Metro line to Badli opens today

delhi Updated: Nov 10, 2015 09:45 IST
HT Correspondent
Delhi metro

A day ahead of Diwali, Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal and Union urban development minister M Venkaiah Naidu will inaugurate two infrastructure projects, including the Jahangirpuri-Samaypur Badli metro section, in the Capital.

After flagging off the 4-km Jahangirpuri-Samaypur Badli section, which is an extension of the Jahangirpuri-Gurgaon line of Delhi Metro, they will inaugurate the six-lane elevated Azadpur-Prembari Pul Road (on Ring Road) on Tuesday.

“The elevated road will help decongest traffic. I had directed the PWD officials to complete this road by October 31. A sum of Rs 247 crore was approved for this project and its foundation stone was laid on June 7, 2013,” PWD minister Satyendar Jain said.

The Delhi government has directed the PWD to complete the Vikaspuri-Wazirabad elevated road by the end of this year.

The inaugural ceremony of the Jahangirpuri-Samaypur Badli section will be held at Metro Bhawan from where the train services will be flagged off. “The first ceremonial train will start from Samaypur Badli. Commercial services for public will start from 2 pm on Tuesday,” said a DMRC spokesperson.

The length of this corridor is 4.373 kms. There will be three stations — Haiderpur, Rohini Sector 18 and Samaypur Badli. Areas such as Jahangirpuri, GT Karnal road, Rohini, Transport Nagar and Badli will benefit from this line.

“With this extension, the yellow line (HUDA City Centre to Jahangirpuri) will run from HUDA City Centre to Samaypur Badli and will be 49-kilometres long. The total metro network, including the airport express line, will become 213 km with 160 stations with the opening of this section. The total travel time from Samaypur Badli to Huda City Centre will be 1 hour 20 minutes,” the spokesperson said.

Apart from ministers, MLAs representing the constituencies — Rajesh Gupta, Bandana Kumari and Pawan Sharma — will attend the function.