Gautam Gambhir out, Bhuvneshwar Kumar is in India’s Test squad vs England | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Gautam Gambhir out, Bhuvneshwar Kumar is in India’s Test squad vs England

Gautam Gambhir is back to playing domestic cricket for Delhi again while Bhuvneshwar Kumar has proved his fitness in a Ranji Trophy match and is back for the India vs England Test series.

cricket Updated: Nov 22, 2016 19:36 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is rewarded for his good show in the Ranji Trophy for Mumbai against Mysore, where he proved his fitness. Gautam Gambhir lost his spot in the 16-member India squad after a poor outing in the Rajkot Test against England.(SG)

Uttar Pradesh pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has replaced opener Gautan Gambhir for the next three Tests against England. A 16-mmber squad was named by the national selectors on Tuesday.

Gambhir’s poor first Test at Rajkot and the inclusion of KL Rahul in the XI meant that the Delhi opener’s spot was in trouble. Gambhir was also released during the Vizag Test to play for Delhi against Rajasthan in a Ranji Trophy match at Wayanad.

Read more | Virender Sehwag’s funny tweet to England pacer James Anderson on Vizag King Pair

Bhuvneshwar Kumar makes a comeback to the India Test squad after the New Zealand series. A slight niggle had kept him out of the squad but Bhuvneshwar Kumar played a Ranji Trophy game against Mumbai at Mysore to prove his fitness. With the next Text match on a lively pitch at Mohali, India could go with three pacers including Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

India have retained the rest of the squad. The hosts lead the series 1-0 after scoring a 246-run win against England at Visakhapatnam.

The Squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane (vice capt), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Karun Nair, Wriddiman Saha (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya