Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for 2007 given away | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for 2007 given away

delhi Updated: Dec 20, 2008 17:50 IST

Twentyone young scientists, five research institutes and automative major Mahindra and Mahindra were on Saturday honoured by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh for excellence in science and technology.

Among the 21 recipients of the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for 2007 were Narayanaswamy Srinivasan of Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Upinder Singh Bhalla of National Centre for Biological Sciences, Amalendu Chandra of IIT Kanpur, A Ajayaghosh of National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology.

Anil Bharadwaj of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Rama Govindarajan of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Budaraju Srinivasa Murty of IIT Madras and B V Rajarama Bhat of Indian Statistical Institute also received the coveted awards.

Pundi Narasimhan Rangarajan of IISc, Yashwant Gupta of National Centre for Radio Astrophysics and Pinaki Majumdar of Harish Chandra Research Institute also received the highest science award of the country for 2007.

The SSB Prize for 2008 were awarded to Gajendra Pal Singh Raghava of Institute of Microbial Technological, L S Shashidhara of Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Pradeep Thalappil of IIT.

Pradeep Thalappil of IIT, Madras, Jarugu Narasimha Moorthy of IIT, Kanpur, Ranjan Kumar Mallik of IIT, Delhi and P N Vinayachandran of IISc also received the award for the year 2008.