New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Jun 06, 2020-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Home / Books / Whowonit?


The suspense is over. The mystery's been revealed. The list of the Mystery Writers of America award-winners has finally been announced. Read on for more.

books Updated: May 03, 2007 19:32 IST
Colleen Long
Colleen Long

Which work won a 2007 Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Play?

Elementary, my dear reader! It was Sherlock Holmes: The Final Adventure, by Steven Dietz.

But that wasn't the only Edgar award winner with Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's fictional detective in the title. E J Wagner's nonfiction book about the history of forensic science, The Science of Sherlock Holmes: From Baskerville Hall to the Valley of Fear, won for best critical/biographical book.

Jason Goodwin's The Janissary Tree was named best novel. And the award winner for best first novel by an American author also was revealed. Whowunit? Alex Berenson, for The Faithful Spy. Mystery Writers of America presented the Edgars, honouring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television and film published or produced last year, at a Manhattan banquet on Thursday.

The other winners were:
Paperback original: Snakeskin Shamisen, by Naomi Hirahara.

Fact crime: Manhunt: The 12-Day Chase for Lincoln's Killer, by James L Swanson.

Short story: 'The Home Front', in Death Do Us Part, by Charles Ardai.

Best juvenile: Room One: A Mystery or Two, by Andrew Clements.

Best young adult: Buried, by Robin Merrow MacCready.

Best television episode teleplay: Life on Mars - Episode 1, by Matthew Graham.

Best television feature/mini-series teleplay: The Wire, Season 4, teleplay by Ed Burns, Kia Corthron, Dennis Lehane, David Mills, Eric Overmyer, George Pelecanos, Richard Prise, David Simon and William F Zorzi.

Best motion picture screenplay, The Departed, screenplay by William Monahan.

Mystery Writers of America, a New York-based organisation for mystery and crime writers, fans and professionals related to the genre, has given the Edgars annually since 1946. Previous winners have included Agatha Christie, Raymond Chandler, Tony Hillerman and Elmore Leonard.

Poe, considered the patron saint of MWA, was a writer of poems, short stories and detective fiction known for his macabre tales.

ht epaper

Sign In to continue reading