Campaign for Madhupur by-election ends, over 3.22 lakh to vote on April 17

Jharkhand: For voters, unemployment and increase in crime rate have been the major issues. However, religious issues ruled the election mostly.
Deoghar: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Hafizul Hussain during his campaign Madhupur Assembly by-polls, in Deoghar district, on Thursday, April 15, 2021. (PTI)
Deoghar: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Hafizul Hussain during his campaign Madhupur Assembly by-polls, in Deoghar district, on Thursday, April 15, 2021. (PTI)
Published on Apr 16, 2021 11:42 AM IST
Copy Link

Political parties and candidates made a last-ditch effort to garner people’s support, as campaigning for Madhupur by-election ended on Thursday evening.

Even though Madhupur assembly constituency in Santhal Paragana division has traditionally witnessed a direct electoral battle between the JMM and the BJP, four independent candidates are also leaving no stone unturned to score in the by-poll.

More than 3.22 lakh electors from the constituency are expected to exercise their franchise on Saturday. A total of 487 polling stations will be in operation on the polling day under heavy deployment of security.

State chief electoral officer (CEO) K Ravi Kumar said, “Campaign came to an end at 6 am on Thursday.

Polling will be held on Saturday from 7am till 6pm.”

As many as six candidates, including Ganga Narayan Singh from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Hafizul Hasan from the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Ashok Kumar Thakur (independent), Uttam Kumar Yadav (Independent), Kisan Kumar Bathwal (Independent) and Rajendra Kumar (Independent), are in the poll fray to try their lucks.

The Madhupur seat went vacant after demise of the Jharkhand minority welfare minister Haji Hussain Ansari. The serving minister and a four-term legislator from Madhupur in Santhal Pargana division of the state died of heart attack on October 3, a day after recovering from Covid-19 at a private hospital.

In a sudden move, chief minister Hemant Soren inducted Ansari’s son, Hafizul Hasan, who is not yet a member of the Jharkhand legislative assembly, as the 10th member of his cabinet. He filed his nomination as JMM candidate for Madhupur by-election. As per the constitutional provisions, a person becomes a member of the assembly within six months of becoming a minister.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) has put all its effort to ensure win of its candidate. The chief minister himself campaigned for Hasan from April 9 in Madhupur till April 15.

“We are hopeful of winning the by-election easily,” the chief minister said.

Meanwhile, the BJP has put its confidence in Ganga Narayan Singh, who switched from AJSU party for the seat. “People have made up their minds to make the BJP candidate win this time from Madhupur,” said Koderma parliamentarian Annapurna Devi, who has also been campaigning for the party candidate.

For voters, unemployment and growing crime have been the major issue.

However, religious issues ruled the election campaign mostly, as the constituency has around 30% Muslim population. Both the JMM and the BJP promised for tribal development in the constituency keeping in mind around 15% tribal population.


    Sanjoy Dey is principal correspondent in Jharkhand and writes on government, urban development, forest and environment, tourism, rural development and agriculture. He likes to write human interest stories.

Close Story

Less time to read?

Try Quickreads

  • Deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar HT File Photo

    OBC quota: Expecting empirical data in June, says Ajit Pawar

    The state government is expecting a report on the empirical data elucidating the political backwardness of the Other Backward Classes (OBCs) from the dedicated commission in June, deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar on Thursday said and added they would approach the Supreme Court with the report, requesting it to restore the quota. Pawar also expressed the hope that the apex court would give a positive verdict on the OBC reservation in the local bodies.

  • One person was killed after the fire at Vishvesvaraya Bhawan on May 11. (HT File Photo/Santosh Kumar)

    Fire breaks out Patna’s Vishvesvaraya Bhawan; 2nd in 9 days

    A fire broke out at Patna's Vishvesvaraya Bhawan late on Thursday, the second time within nine days, police said adding that three fire tenders already parked at the Bhawan immediately brought the fire under control and doused the flames. This time, the blaze was reported on the sixth floor of the building. However, no casualties have been reported so far in the incident. People raised an alarm after they noticed smoke billowing from the building.

  • Nikhil Bhamre, who was arrested in Nashik for allegedly posting derogatory comments on Sharad Pawar, was produced before a Thane court on Thursday. Praful Gangurde/HT Photo

    Two years later, Marathi actor Ketaki Chitale arrested in atrocities case

    More than two years after Chitale was booked under the Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe (Prevention of Atrocities) Act for allegedly posting derogatory comments on Buddhism, the Rabale police on Thursday arrested Marathi actor Ketaki Chitale. A resident of Ghansoli and a final-year law student, Swapnil Jagtap then alleged that he had received a screenshot on WhatsApp about Chitale's Facebook post on March 1, 2020, and comments below it by one Suraj Shinde.

  • The NASI now has 1,856 fellows from all parts of the country. Of these, 250 are women scientists and researchers amounting to over 12%. (File photo)

    Women scientists excelling in science & technology in country: NASI records

    Efforts by one of the top scientific institutions of the country—National Academy of Sciences, India — to increase participation of women in the field of science and technology have started to pay off now. Neeraj Kumar, executive secretary, NASI, Prayagraj said the institution gives fellowship to just around 50 scientists every year who are selected by top scientists of the country. The Prayagraj academy, founded in 1930, is the oldest of all Indian science academies.

  • SSP Prayagraj Ajay Kumar has suspended 89 policemen, which includes seven SHOs, 26 sub-inspectors, 16 head constables, 37 constables and one follower. Meanwhile, 44 policemen, including 23 sub-inspectors, a head constable and 14 constables were sent to police lines. (Pic for representation)

    Since January, action taken against 132 erring cops by Prayagraj SSP

    In an attempt to enforce accountability, take corrupt and lax cops to task and improve the overall law and order in the district, SSP Prayagraj Ajay Kumar has taken action against 132 policemen ever since taking charge in January this year. During these 131 days, Kumar has suspended 89 policemen, which includes seven SHOs, 26 sub-inspectors, 16 head constables, 37 constables and one follower.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, May 19, 2022