Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 15, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP MP Anurag Thakur elected youngest ever BCCI president

The Board of Control for Cricket in India secretary Anurag Thakur was unanimously elected as the youngest ever president of the body at a special general meeting on Sunday after Shashank Manohar stepped down from the post to take up the International Cricket Council chairman’s job.

cricket Updated: May 22, 2016 11:43 IST
Anurag Thakur,Thakur elected BCCI president,Shashank Manohar
Anurag Thakur, who is an MP for the Bharatiya Janata Party and a close ally of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, succeeds Shashank Manohar who stepped down earlier this month to become the first independent chairman of the International Cricket Council.(PTI Photo)

Anurag Thakur was on Sunday unanimously elected as the youngest BCCI president post-Independence, while Ajay Shirke was chosen as secretary in a smooth change of guard at a time when the world’s richest board is sailing in choppy waters.

The 41-year-old Thakur replaced Shashank Manohar who quit the position to take up the ICC chairman’s job.

Manohar’s exit from the top post barely seven months into his tenure had necessitated the election of the new chief of the world’s richest and most powerful cricket body.

Soon after his resignation, Thakur got the signatures of all six east zone units in his BCCI presidential nomination from Saturday, paving the way for his unanimous choice as the 34th president of the board.

In a show of solidarity, all the six east units - Cricket Association of Bengal, Assam CA, Tripura CA, NCC and Jharkhand SCA - had signed his nomination papers even though the rules required only one unit to nominate the name of the presidential candidate.

The BJP MP from Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh will be taking over the reins of the embattled board in tough times as the BCCI is facing heat from the Supreme Court to implement the justice RM Lodha committee’s recommendations for sweeping reforms.

Thakur will go into the books as the first first-class cricketer to turn BCCI president after Raj Singh Dungarpur.

Although cricket legend Sunil Gavaskar had held the post jointly with another Test cricketer Shivlal Yadav briefly, specifically in charge of IPL affairs, that had been done at the direction of the Supreme Court which ordered then president N Srinivasan to step aside in the wake of the 2013 IPL betting and spot-fixing scandal.

While Raj had played 86 first-class matches for Rajasthan and the then Madhya Bharat as a medium pacer and also claimed 206 wickets, Thakur has represented HP in a lone Ranji Trophy game as a right-hand batsman and off break bowler in 2000-11 season.

Thakur is also the third person backed by East Zone to be elected to the top post during the 2014-1017 period.

Jagmohan Dalmiya, who was the consensus candidate after Srinivasan’s exit, died in office last year and Manohar took over in October, 2015.

First Published: May 22, 2016 10:24 IST