Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Blind cricket World T20: India beat Sri Lanka by 10 wickets to enter final

Unbeaten century by opening batsman J Prakash, along with fifty by Ajay Kumar Reddy ensured India come up with a big show against Sri Lanka in semi-final.

cricket Updated: Feb 11, 2017 01:35 IST
Blind Cricket World T20,India blind cricket team,Blind cricket
The India blind cricket team will play the winner of Saturday’s second semi-final between Pakistan and England in Bengaluru on Sunday. (PTI)

J Prakash’s unbeaten 115 off 52 balls in an unbroken opening partnership of 175 runs with Ajay Kumar Reddy (51 not out) helped defending champions India thrash Sri Lanka by 10 wickets and enter the final of T20 World Cup for the Blind at Lal Bahadur Stadium here on Friday.

Put into bat, Sri Lanka were all out for 174 in 19.2 overs in the semi-final with the Indian bowlers and fielders coming up with an impressive performance. Sri Lanka tried to push the scoring rate through Suranga Sampath (49 off 37 balls) and Chandana Deshapriya (42 off 35 balls) but found it hard against a strong Indian bowling unit.

Ranbir Panwar and Sunil were the home team’s best bowlers, picking up two wickets each while Ajay and Golu Kumar bagging one wicket each. India also produced a superb show in the fielding department by effecting four run outs.

India chased down the target in just 13 overs with both the openers remaining unbeaten. The Sri Lankan bowlers found it difficult to contain the Indian openers. They gave away only nine extras but had little answer against the strokeplay of Prakash and Ajay.

It was a big day and India brought out their top game forward to make an empathetic statement ahead of the final. They will now wait for the winner of the second semi-final between Pakistan and England at the Alur Ground in Bangalore on Saturday to know their opponents in the final.

The final will be played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday.

First Published: Feb 10, 2017 23:31 IST