Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 17, 2018-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup, 2018: India to open vs Australia on Jan. 14

ICC Under-19 cricket World Cup will be played in New Zealand from January 13 to February 3, 2018. India open vs Australia on January 14

cricket Updated: Aug 17, 2017 17:09 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Under-19 cricket world cup,ICC,West Indies
India have been clubbed with Australia in the ICC Under-19 cricket World Cup to be played in New Zealand in January-February 2018. (Getty Images)

Former champions India and Australia have been clubbed together in the ICC Under-19 cricket World Cup to be played in New Zealand early next year. India start their campaign in group B with a match against the Aussies in Tauranga on January 14. Zimbabwe and East Asia Pacific qualifier Papua New Guinea are the other teams in India’s group.

The January 13-February 3 ICC Under-19 cricket World Cup will feature 16 teams and will be played across seven venues in four cities – Christchurch, Queenstown, Tauranga and Whangarei.

The 10 Test playing nations (prior to Afghanistan and Ireland’s recent inclusion) gained automatic qualification to the event along with the best finishing associate from the last edition, Namibia. They are joined by five regional qualifiers in the biennial tournament that showcases future stars every two years.

Defending champion West Indies will open their campaign against host New Zealand in Tauranga on January 13.

Bangladesh, Canada, England and Namibia comprise Group C while two-time champion Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Asia qualifier Afghanistan and Europe qualifier Ireland form Group D in what is the 11th edition of the tournament and the third to be held in New Zealand.

The top two sides from each group will advance to the Under-19 Cricket World cup Super League while the remaining eight teams will figure in the plate championship.

The quarterfinals, semifinals and final of the Super League will be among the 20 matches to be broadcast live. The final will be played at Bay Oval in Tauranga on February 3 while both semifinals will be played at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on January 29 and 30.

The plate tournament will run simultaneously but end with the final at the Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Christchurch on January 28.

First Published: Aug 17, 2017 12:21 IST