ICC World Test Championship points table: India lead with 120 points and why Afghanistan’s historic win over Bangladesh had no relevance

Afghanistan won the Only Test against Bangladesh in Chittagong by 224 runs with skipper Rashid Khan delivering an all-round performance to take his side home.
Afghanistan beat Bangladesh by 224 runs.(Afghanistan Cricket/Twitter)
Afghanistan beat Bangladesh by 224 runs.(Afghanistan Cricket/Twitter)
Updated on Sep 11, 2019 08:26 AM IST
Copy Link
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent

Afghanistan pulled off a big win over Bangladesh in the Only Test between the two teams in Chittagong. After registering 342 in the first innings, the Rashid Khan-led side bundled out the hosts for 205 to take a 137-run lead in the match. In the second innings, Afghanistan scored 260 runs to set a mammoth total of 397 for Bangladesh to chase. In reply, the hosts could only muster 173, and lost the match by 224 runs.

Also Read: India head coach Ravi Shastri opens up about alleged rift between Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma

But what effect does this massive win has on the ICC World Championship Trophy? With every Test series under the Test Championship Table - 2019-21 carrying 120 points, why Afghanistan did not receive 120 points for the series win?

Also read: Four-day structure back home helped Afghanistan against Bangladesh: Rashid Khan

Firstly, only top nine teams on the ICC Test rankings as on March 31, 2018, were included in the current cycle, which meant that Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Ireland are left out. It does not mean that these teams will not play Tests during this time - but it means that any series that will include these three teams will automatically not be a part of the current cycle of ICC Test Championship.

Here’s a look at the ICC World Test Championship points table

Secondly, this series was not a part of the current cycle of Test Championship. As per the rules, a series under the World Test Championship can have a minimum of two matches and a maximum of five matches. With this series having only one match, it cannot be considered.

Also read: Rashid Khan leads Afghanistan to historic win against Bangladesh

Hence, irrespective of losing the match, Bangladesh are still on 0 points having played 0 games in the table, along with South Africa and Pakistan, who are also yet to play their first match in ICC Test Championship 2019-21.

At the moment, India are on top of the table with 120 points, having won both their games so far in West Indies. New Zealand and Sri Lanka, with one win each, are in second and third place, respectively, with 60 points. Australia, who have won two Tests and drawn one, are at 56 points in the fourth place.

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, November 28, 2021