New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 23, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Monday, Sep 23, 2019

ICL finally seems to take off

The rebel league announces the teams’ list for the two-week long event beginning on November 30, reports Venkat Ananth.

cricket Updated: Nov 15, 2007 01:18 IST
Venkat Ananth
Venkat Ananth
Hindustan Times

Hamish Marshall, Chris Read, Vikram Solanki and Russel Arnold… the ICL finally seems to be taking off after a haze of uncertainty surrounded it. The ICL, on Wednesday, announced the teams and players who will be participating in the two-week long event, beginning on November 30 at Panchkula.

On the latest announcements, Kapil Dev, ICL chairman said, "We are thrilled to make this announcement. We have ensured the teams are balanced in every way." However, the ICL did not name the captains for the teams. A source in the ICL confirmed to Hindustan Times that, "We will announce the captains by next week. The coaches and the executive board will meet to freeze on the captains."

However, later in the day, the ICL announced names of six international stars who will play the tournament. Brian Lara (Mumbai Champs), Inzamam ul-Haq (Hyderabad Heroes), Craig McMillan (Kolkata Tigers), Marvan Atapattu (Delhi Jets), Chris Cairns (Chandigarh Lions) and Stuart Law (Chennai Superstars) were all named in the release. An ICL spokesperson confirmed that the exclusion of the six big names in the initial list had been an error on their part.

However, there was further drama in store. A late night call from the ICL spokesperson said that “Atapattu’s inclusion in the list of international stars was a computer error and that his name may be removed.”

Interestingly, Atapattu is currently touring Australia with the Sri Lankan squad. He had recently made controversial remarks about the selectors.

The ICL has also not shied away from hiring young international coaches. While Daryll Cullinan will be in charge of Kolkata Tigers, former Australian one-day player, Michael Bevan will coach Chennai Superstars and former Pakistan wicketkeeper Moin Khan will take charge of Hyderabad Heroes. Indian coaches Sandeep Patil, Madan Lal and Balwinder Singh Sandhu have been put in charge of their respective regional teams.

The teams have been allotted practice grounds in their respective cities. They include the Tau Devilal Stadium (Chandigarh Lions), Calcutta Cricket & Football Club (Kolkata Tigers), Lahari Resorts (Hyderabad Heroes and Chennai Superstars), Teri Oval (Delhi Jets) and the Western Railway Ground, Parel (Mumbai Champs).

First Published: Nov 15, 2007 00:46 IST