Today in New Delhi, India
Sep 23, 2018-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Melbourne T20 1st innings highlights: India end at 184/3

Australian Twenty20 captain Aaron Finch won the toss and opted to bowl first in the second of the three-match T20 series against India in Melbourne on Friday.

Ind vs Aus 2016 Updated: Jan 29, 2016 16:33 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
India tour of Australia 2016,Melbourne T20,Aaron Finch
India's Rohit Sharma (L) hits a six while batting as Australia's Matthew Wade watches during their T20 cricket match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on January 29, 2016. (Reuters Photo)


Over 20: Fifty up for Kohli with a boundary through the off side. Dhoni holes out in the deep trying to hit a big one. India end at 184/3

19.4 Andrew Tye to MS Dhoni

OUT! The skipper departs! Full length delivery around off, Dhoni looks to go big but does not get the desired elevation and distance. Watson is the man who takes an easy catch at long off. So, Dhoni has done his job before departing.

Over 19: A Dhoni boundary and four singles off the over. 174/2

Over 18: Two boundaries of the over. 166/2

Over 17: A four from Kohli in the over. 152/2

Over 16: Another four from Kohli, but an unfortunate run out and Rohit departs. 143/2

Over 15: Another six from Kohli. 134/1

Over 14: Three boundaries from Kohli to get his innings going. 122/1

Over 13: 5 runs off the over. 109/1

Over 12: Rohit hits 50, 100 up for India. 104/1

Over 11: Shikhar Dhawan falls for 42 to Chris Lynn

10.6 Glenn Maxwell TO Shikhar Dhawan

OUT! Maxwell breaks the opening stand! Flighted delivery around off, Dhawan reverse sweeps this one but does not quite get it over the man stationed at backward point. It’s Chris Lynn who takes a safe catch and sends the opener back in the hut. A fine knock nevertheless. He has given a perfect start to the innings. The rest of the batsmen need to capitalize it now.

Over 10: Just three off the over. 86/0

Over 9: Six singles off the over. India 83/0

Over 8: A Sharma six off a free hit. India 77/0

Over 7: A four and six by Dhawan. India 62/0

Over 6: 6 more runs off the over. India 50/0

Over 5: Three boundaries by Rohit off Faulkner. India 44/0

Over 4: A six and a four from Dhawan and a four from Rohit take India to 29/0

Over 3: 2 runs off the Watson over, India 12/0

Over 2: 5 runs off Hastings, India 10/0

Over 1: A wide and four leg byes off the first over from Shane Watson. India 5/0

Australian Twenty20 captain Aaron Finch won the toss and opted to bowl first in the second of the three-match T20 series against India in Melbourne on Friday.

Finch explained his decision, saying any assistance offered by the pitch at the Melbourne Cricket Ground would be at the start of the innings.

As part of Australia’s rotation policy and due to its plans to test various players for the upcoming ICC World T20 in March, David Warner and Steve Smith have been rested. Nathan Lyon, Andrew Tye and Scott Boland are making their T20 international debut, while John Hastings and Glenn Maxwell are also in the playing 11.

India is fielding the same side that won the first match in Adelaide.



MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra


Aaron Finch (captain), Shaun Marsh, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Shane Watson, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), James Faulkner, John Hastings, Scott Boland, Adnrew Tye, Nathan Lyon

Read | Melbourne T20 second innings highlights

First Published: Jan 29, 2016 14:00 IST