Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 16, 2018-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ranchi T20 first innings: India set Sri Lanka 197-run target

Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal won the toss and opted to bowl first in the second Twenty20 international of the three-match series against India in Ranchi on Friday.

cricket Updated: Feb 12, 2016 21:39 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
India vs Sri Lanka T20 series,Ranchi T20,MS Dhoni
Indian batsman Rohit Sharma hits a four against Sri Lanka during the second T20 match between the two countries, in Ranchi on February 12, 2016.(AP Photo)


Over 20: 10 runs off the last over. 196/6

Over 19: Hardik Pandya, Suresh Raina and Yuvraj Singh. A hat-trick for Thisara Perera. 186/6

Over 18: Four boundaries from Raina off Chameera. 179/3

Over 17: Two sixes by Pandya. 161/3

Over 16: Two boundaries in that Rajitha over. 145/3

Over 15: 4 runs and the wicket of Ajinkya Rahane off Senanayake. 131/3

Over 14: 5 runs and the wicket of Rohit Sharma in that Chameera over. 127/1

13.1 Dushmantha Chameera to Rohit Sharma

OUT! CHAMEERA GETS ANOTHER OPENER! What a catch that was! He hurls a slower one at 118.6 kph, Rohit looks to flick it towards mid-wicket but gets a leading edge towards the bowler. Chameera dives to his right and pulls off a stunner. He is the only bowler who has been bowling well tonight for the Lankans. Another partnership that was blooming has been broken. He will be on a Hat-trick now. Can he get one?

Over 13: Two boundaries in that Shanaka over. 122/1

Over 12: A six by Rohit and four singles off Prasanna. 110/1

Over 11: 7 runs off Rajitha. 100/1

Over 10: 6 runs off Prasanna. 93/1

Over 9: 9 runs conceded by Siriwardana. 87/1

Over 8: 5 off Prasanna. 80/1

Over 7: 5 runs, Shikhar Dhawan’s 50 and his wicket as well, in Chameera’s first over. 75/1

6.6 Dushmantha Chameera to Shikhar Dhawan

OUT! CHAMEERA DRAWS FIRST BLOOD! Short of a length ball on off, Dhawan goes back and looks to run it down to third man but some bounce off the deck takes the outside edge and flies into the hands of the keeper. He pouches it and throws the ball skywards. The umpire asks Dhawan to wait as he wanted to have a look at the front foot. Replays show it’s fine and Dhawan continues to walk back. Brilliant innings and that ends a terrific opening stand of 75 runs.

Over 6: Two boundaries off Perera. 70/0

Over 5: 11 off Senanayake. 55/0

Over 4: Four boundaries in that Rajitha over. 44/0

Over 3: Nine runs off that Senanayake over. 27/0

Over 2: A six from Dhawan and five more runs off Thisara Perera. 18/0

Over 1: A four by Rohit off the first over from Rajitha. India 7/0

Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal won the toss and opted to bowl first in the second Twenty20 international of the three-match series against India in Ranchi on Friday.

Explaining his decision, Chandimal said he didn’t expect the pitch to change too much. The side has youngsters who did well in the first game and hopefully they could continue from there, he added.

Sri Lanka are fielding a team that has one change from the first game in Pune. Tillakaratne Dilshan is included in place of Niroshan Dickwella.

India, meanwhile, are fielding a side unchanged from the first game.

Against a virtually full-strength Indian team in the first match in Pune on Tuesday, the inexperienced Sri Lankans were without the likes of Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews and Dilshan.

But the Sri Lankan pacers, led by debutant pacer Kasun Rajitha and supported by Dasun Shanaka and Dushmantha Chameera, made the most of the green top and bundled India out for just 100 runs to set up an upset win.

The third and final T20 will be played in Visakhapatnam on Sunday.


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dinesh Chandimal (captain, wicketkeeper), Chamara Kapugedera, Milinda Siriwardana, Dasun Shanaka, S Prasanna, NLTC Perera, SMSM Senanayake, CAK Rajitha, PVD Chameera

Read | Ranchi T20 second innings highlights

First Published: Feb 12, 2016 19:11 IST