Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Nathan Lyon to captain Australia’s PM XI in Twenty20 against England

Nathan Lyon will captain Australian Prime Minister’s XI against England in T20 practice game.

cricket Updated: Jan 30, 2018 17:28 IST
Agence France-Presse
Agence France-Presse
Agence France-Presse, Sydney
Nathan Lyon,Twenty20,Australia vs England
Australia's Nathan Lyon will skipper Prime Minister’s XI in a practice T20 game against England.(Reuters)

Eight players with international experience have been picked for the Prime Minister’s XI to face England, Cricket Australia said Tuesday, in a bid to give the tourists a stern test ahead of the Twenty20 tri-series.

Australia spinner Nathan Lyon, announced as captain for the match in Canberra on Friday, will lead a squad which features Peter Handscomb, Peter Nevill and James Faulkner.

READ | India good enough to field two teams in the ICC U-19 World Cup: Mohammed Azharuddin

Players in good form in the T20 Big Bash League such as Sydney Sixers’ Nic Maddinson and Sean Abbott have also been included. Former Test wicket-keeper Brad Haddin will coach the PM XI.

“It’s pleasing to put together a really strong side to represent the Prime Minister’s XI, this is one of the most experienced teams we’ve assembled for this clash in a number of years,” CA national talent manager Greg Chappell said in a statement.

READ | Johannesburg: India cricket team’s fortress away from home

“We’re confident this team can give England a real test ahead of the T20 tri-series.”

The T20 tri-series also features the Black Caps and takes place in Australia and New Zealand from February 3-21.

Prime Minister’s XI: Nathan Lyon (captain), Sean Abbott, Brendan Doggett, James Faulkner, Sebastian Gotch, Peter Handscomb, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Nic Maddinson, Peter Nevill, Mitchell Swepson, Blake MacDonald (12th man).

First Published: Jan 30, 2018 17:28 IST