Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana seal T20I series win for India against Bangladesh | Crickit

Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana seal T20I series win for India against Bangladesh

By, Chandigarh
May 02, 2024 08:15 PM IST

India women chased down 118 with seven wickets in hand to take an unassailable 3-0 lead with two games remaining.

The opening combination of Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Verma has had an integral role in many of India's recent victories. That was the case on Thursday too as Mandhana and Verma shared a 91-run opening stand to lead India to a seven-wicket victory over Bangladesh in the third T20I in Sylhet, helping the visitors claim an unassailable 3-0 lead with two matches left.

Smriti Mandhana (L) and Shafali Varma(Getty)
Smriti Mandhana (L) and Shafali Varma(Getty)

After India's bowlers restricted Bangladesh to 117/8, Mandhana and Verma made short work of the target with a fluent partnership. Verma was the more dominant partner as expected, scoring 51 off just 38 balls with eight fours. Mandhana contributed a 42-ball 47 that included five fours and a six.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's general elections, only on the HT App. Download Now! Download Now!

With the Women's T20 World Cup scheduled to be held in Bangladesh in September, Mandhana and Verma's runs at the top of the order should hold India in good stead. They complement each other well as a result of being a left-right combination, compelling bowlers to constantly adjust their lines. On Thursday, they took advantage of the field restrictions and helped India race to 59/0 in the first six overs. The early flow of boundaries included Shafali hitting three successive fours against Nahida Akter in the sixth over.

By the time that Mandhana and Verma were dismissed in quick succession, the result was all but sealed. Harmanpreet Kaur and Richa Ghosh were the unbeaten batters who completed the formalities.

India's bowlers also stepped up. Despite Dilara Akter setting a solid foundation for the hosts with a 27-ball 39, they were never able to really put the Indians under pressure in the field. Left-arm spinner Radha Yadav was typically economical, conceding just 22 runs in her four overs while also claiming the wickets of Bangladesh skipper Nigar Sultana and Shorifa Khatun. Renuka Singh, Pooja Vastrakar and Shreyanka Patil finished with a wicket apiece.

The next two T20Is will also be held in Sylhet on May 6 and 9.

Brief scores: Bangladesh 117/8 in 20 overs (Dilara Akter 39, Nigar Sultana 28; Radha Yadav 2/22) India 121/3 in 18.3 overs (Shafali Verma 51, Smriti Mandhana 47; Ritu Moni 1/10). India won by 7 wickets.

Catch every big hit, every wicket with Crick-it, a one stop destination for Live Scores, Match Stats, Quizzes, Polls & much more.Explore now !.

Stay updated with the latest cricket news, T20 World Cup 2024 updates, and match highlights. Explore the World Cup Schedule 2024, track the World Cup Points Table, follow Virat Kohli's performance, and stay ahead with the stats on World Cup Most Wickets and World Cup Most Runs on the Hindustan Times website and app.
Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, May 28, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On