Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 18, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Shardul Thakur to miss Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy quarterfinal clash vs Karnataka

Shardul Thakur suffered an injury to his left shoulder while dropping a catch on the opening day of Mumbai’s last Ranji Trophy league game against Tripura

cricket Updated: Dec 02, 2017 14:15 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Mumbai
Ranji Trophy,Shardul Thakur,Mumbai vs Karnataka
Shardul Thakur has been ruled out of the Ranji Trophy quarterfinal match due to a shoulder injury.(HT file photo)

Injured pacer Shardul Thakur does not feature in Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy squad for their quarterfinal match against Karnataka beginning on December 7.

Thakur suffered an injury to his left shoulder while dropping a catch on the opening day of Mumbai’s last league game against Tripura which the hosts won by 10 wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Even Shreyas Iyer, who has been picked in the Indian side for the ODI series against Sri Lanka, has not been included in the squad.

READ | Virat Kohli races to fifty, India captain piles misery on Sri Lanka in 3rd Test

The squad, to be led by Aditya Tare, includes their in-form young batsman Prithvi Shaw and opener Jay Bista.

A senior Mumbai Cricket Association official today told PTI that Thakur has been advised rest and hence was not considered for selection.

Other regulars - Akhil Herwadkar, Siddesh Lad, Surya Kumar Yadav, senior pro Dhawal Kulkarni, medium pacer Akash Parkar and left-arm spinner Karsh Kothari - have all been named in the squad.

READ | Hardik Pandya reveals he was almost jailed in West Indies due to Kieron Pollard

The domestic cricket powerhouse stormed into the quarterfinals after a comprehensive win over Tripura.

The 41-time Ranji Trophy champions will lock horns with Karnakata in Nagpur for a place in the semifinals.

Squad: Aditya Tare (Captain), Surya Kumar Yadav (Vice Captain), Dhawal Kulkarni, Siddhesh Lad, Jay Bista, Prithvi Shaw, Akhil Herwadkar, Sufiyan Shaikh, Akash Parkar, Karsh Kothari, Sagar Trivedi, Vijay Gohil, Shivam Malhotra, Shivam Dube and Shubham Ranjane.

First Published: Dec 02, 2017 14:15 IST