Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 17, 2018-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Steve Smith comes closer to Matthew Hayden’s record with scintillating Ashes ton

Steve Smith scored his 22nd Test century during the third Ashes Test vs the England cricket team at Perth, and moved closer to breaking a record held by Australian great Matthew Hayden.

cricket Updated: Dec 16, 2017 11:33 IST
Ankit Kumar Singh
Ankit Kumar Singh
Hindustan Times, Mumbai
Steve Smith‬,‪Test cricket‬,‪The Ashes‬
Australian cricket team captain Steve Smith celebrates reaching his century during the third day of the third Ashes Test match at Perth. (REUTERS)

Steve Smith continued his dream run in Test cricket, joining his fellow countryman Matthew Hayden as the only men to have scored thousand runs or more in a calendar year on four consecutive occasions in the longer version of the game. (3rd Ashes Test live score)

Smith achieved this feat on his way to a scintillating hundred, which was 22nd of his Test career, against England in the ongoing third Test of the Ashes at the WACA, Perth on Saturday.

With this ton, Smith also became the third fastest player to score 22 centuries, reaching the landmark in 108 innings. He broke Sachin Tendulkar’s record, who took 114 innings to score 22 tons.

Prior to Smith, three Australians - Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke- also scored thousand runs in a year four times, but among them, only Hayden did it on consecutive occasions.

Hayden still holds the record for scoring 1000 runs in a calendar year on most consecutive occasions (5), a feat Smith will look to equal next year.

The Australian cricket team skipper’s 22nd hundred, which came in his 108th innings, also made him the third fastest in Test history to reach the landmark. Only Sir Donald Bradman (58 innings) and former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar (101 innings) reached 22 hundreds quicker than Smith.

The No.1 ranked batsman in Tests also became the 11th player in the history of Test cricket to compile 1000 Test runs in a year four times.

Sachin Tendulkar holds the distinction of scoring a 1000 runs during a calendar year on six occasions. Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting, Alastair Cook, Jacques Kallis, Brian Lara and Kumar Sangakkara have done the same five times.

First Published: Dec 16, 2017 11:15 IST