Zaheer, Yuvraj and Adam Gilchrist bag inaugural Cricinfo award | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2018-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Zaheer, Yuvraj and Adam Gilchrist bag inaugural Cricinfo award

Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka and Adam Gilchrist of Australia are among six cricketers honoured by Cricinfo for their standout performances last year.

cricket Updated: Jan 30, 2008 13:39 IST

Zaheer Khan, Yuvraj Singh and RP Singh were among the six cricketers who were named winners of the inaugural Cricinfo Awards for their outstanding performance in three different formats of the game.

Apart from the Indian trio, Sri Lanka duo of Kumar Sangakkara and Lasith Malinga and Australia's retiring hero Adam Gilchrist were also the winners.

The winners were selected by a jury comprising Geoffrey Boycott, Ian Chappell, Daryll Cullinan, Tony Greig, Michael Holding, David Lloyd, Sanjay Manjrekar, Ramiz Raja and Ravi Shastri.

Sangakkara won the Test batting prize for his 192 against Australia in Hobart, while Zaheer bagged the Test bowling award for his 5 for 75 in the second Test against England at Trent Bridge.

"It was a really gritty performance by Zaheer Khan, and the Indians will thank him for the memorable victory at Trent Bridge, and that allowed India to go on and win an exciting series," Boycott said.

Fellow jury member Ramiz echoed the same view and said, "What was eye catching about the spell was the use of the crease and the angle that he developed to remain on top of the opposition. It was a master class from Zaheer Khan and he richly deserves the award."

Gilchrist won the one-day batting title for his 149 in the World Cup final against Sri Lanka, while Malinga got the bowler's award for claiming four wickets in as many balls against South Africa in the World Cup.

Both the Twenty20 batsman and bowler's awards went to Indian players.