Bringing back the bygone era

The finale show by Manish Malhotra at the India Couture Week organised by the Fashion Design Council of Indian in association with Hindustan Times was an ode to the Mughal era.
Designer Manish Malhotra presented his collection Ruhaaniyat at ICW 2020.
Designer Manish Malhotra presented his collection Ruhaaniyat at ICW 2020.
Updated on Sep 23, 2020 11:12 PM IST
Copy Link
Hindustan Times | By

Manish Malhotra, a designer who prides himself on craftsmanship, has a magic wand through which he can transform one from sitting in pjs crunched in front of the computer to India’s cultural zeitgeist of the Mughal Era. Breaking the blues, and the grim aura that surrounds us due to the pandemic, Malhotra’s collection was unapologetically extravagant for the bride who is unafraid to carry the weightlessness of tradition on her pallu.

 

View this post on Instagram

A tribute to our diverse heritage and soulful artistry of the Indian craftsmen. The Nazakat of Awadh and the vibrance of Punjab. A Couture Film . Production: Manish Malhotra Productions ( @manishmalhotraworld ) Special Thanks: Janhvi Kapoor ( @janhvikapoor Location: The Leela Palace, New Delhi ( @theleelapalacenewdelhi , @theleela ) Videography & Editing: The Orange Booth ( @theorangebooth ) Music: Abi Sampa ( @abisampa ), Rushil Ranjan ( @rushilmusic ) Beauty Elements: Manish Malhotra Beauty ( @manishmalhotrabeauty ) Jewels: Manish Malhotra Jewellery by Raniwala1881 ( @manishmalhotrajewellery ) Hair & Makeup: Anu Kaushik ( @kaushikanu ) Choreography: Lubna Adams ( @lubna.adam ) Backstage & Model Management: Pujan Kapur ( @pujankapursharma ) Models: Kanishtha Dhankhar ( @kanishthadhankhar ) Richa Dave ( @richadave.10 ) Aishwarya Singh ( @_aaishwarya ) Aanchal Jain ( @aanchal.jain.7731 ) Bidisha Bharadwaj ( @bidishabharadwaj ) Archita Mahalwal ( @architamahalwal ) Tamanna Katoch ( @tamanna__katoch ) Nisha Yadav ( @nisha.yadav.official) Robbie Mairh ( @robbiejmairh ) Piyush Walia ( @piyushahluwalia010 ) Kian (@kiankaiken ) Kyle Martelli ( @kylemartelli ) Ansh Duggal ( @anshduggal ) Shivam Dubey ( @shivamdhar_dubey ) Aarav Verma ( @arav_nawariya_) #ruhaaniyat @fdciofficial @hindustantimes #ICW2020 #couturefilm @theleelapalacenewdelhi @manishmalhotrajewellery #manishmalhotrajewellerybyraniwala1881 @manishmalhotrabeauty @manishmalhotraworld

A post shared by Manish Malhotra (@manishmalhotra05) on

Hoping to bring back celebration and cheer with vibrant music filling the air, he focused on the bygone era and to make timeless pieces in pastel hues and sheer dupattas. Veils that are usually ditched at this time were brought back with train lehengas. Men were seen donning angrakhas, manarkalis and velvet shawls.

And who is Malhotra’s muse this season? Actor Janhvi Kapoor, who dons a voluminous train lehenga with intricate embroidery and a sheer veil. A fantasy look for this season’s bride.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE ON
  • ABOUT THE AUTHOR

    Prerna Gauba writes on fashion and food, for the daily Entertainment & Lifestyle supplement, HT City.

Close Story
SHARE
Story Saved
×
Saved Articles
Following
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, January 21, 2022