Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ocean’s Eleven all-female cast just got better with these 2 new additions

Mindy Kaling and Helena Bonham Carter will headline Ocean’s Ocho, an all-female take on George Clooney and Brad Pitt led Ocean’s Eleven.

hollywood Updated: Jun 10, 2016 14:25 IST
Ocean's Eleven,Sandra Bullock,Cate Blanchett
Ocean's Eleven cast of Bernie Mac, Casey Affleck, Li Dian Feng, Scott Caan, George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Matt Damon, Elliott Gould, Don Cheadle, Edward Jemison and Carl Reiner.

Actresses Mindy Kaling and Helena Bonham Carter will reportedly join Sandra Bullock, who will lead the pack in the upcoming all-female reboot of Warner Bros’ Ocean’s Eleven.

According to Hollywood news portal Showbiz 411, actress Cate Blanchett has also been confirmed to join the star-studded cast. However, Jennifer Lawrence was reportedly unable to join the project due to her busy schedule.

Helena Bonham Carter and Mindy Kaling have joined Sandra Bullock and Cate Blanchett in the cast of Ocean’s Ocho, an all-female retelling of Ocean’s Eleven.

The Ocean’s Eleven reboot will be a continuation of the George Clooney-led films, with Bullock starring as Danny Ocean’s sister. With help from Blanchett -- who will essay the equivalent of actor Brad Pitt’s Rusty in the original series -- Bullock’s character will form a team of thieves to steal a necklace from the Met Ball in order to frame a villainous gallery owner.

Read: Ocean’s Eleven voted best heist movie crew

The project is unofficially titled Ocean’s Ocho, indicating there are eight thief protagonists instead of the traditional eleven.

Gary Ross is directing, producing and writing the screenplay with Queen & Country scribe Olivia Milch. Shooting is expected to begin next fall.

Ocean’s Eleven

Ocean’s Eleven is a 2001 American comedy heist film and a remake of the 1960 Rat Pack film of the same name. The 2001 film was directed by Steven Soderbergh and features an ensemble cast including George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Matt Damon, Don Cheadle, Andy García, and Julia Roberts.

Soderbergh directed two sequels, Ocean’s Twelve in 2004 and Ocean’s Thirteen in 2007, which make up the Ocean’s Trilogy.

First Published: Jun 10, 2016 14:22 IST