New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 23, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Monday, Sep 23, 2019

ICC Champions Trophy: 5 memorable clashes between India and Bangladesh

India and Bangladesh play the second semi-final of ICC Champions Trophy 2017 at Edgbaston on Thursday. HT looks back at five unforgettable encounters between the two teams

icc-champions-trophy-2017 Updated: Jun 14, 2017 13:57 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Bangladesh defeated India by five wickers in their group match at the 2007 ICC World Cup.
Bangladesh defeated India by five wickers in their group match at the 2007 ICC World Cup.(Getty Images)

India and Bangladesh have played some memorable games against each other over the years. From Bangladesh’s shock win at the 2007 World Cup to MS Dhoni handing India a one-run win with a stunning run-out dismissal in the game’s last ball at the 2016 World T20, quite a few matches between the two sides have gone the distance. (ICC Champions Trophy full coverage)

Ahead of their ICC Champions Trophy semi-final clash at Edgbaston on Thursday, here is a look at some of the memorable clashes:

March 17, 2007 - Bangladesh won by 5 wickets

India had finished runners-up in the preceding World Cup and were placed alongside Sri Lanka, Bermuda and Bangladesh in Group B and were expected to go through to the next round. However, they were stunned in the very first game as Bangladesh won by five wickets to score a major upset.

Opting to bat first after winning the toss, India put up a paltry total of 191 with only Sourav Ganguly (66) and Yuvraj Singh (47) managing respectable scores. In reply, half centuries from Tamim Iqbal (51), Mushfiqur Rahim (56) and Shakib Al Hasan (53) led their side to a historic win with nine balls remaining.

READ | India vs Bangladesh: Coach Chandika Hathurusingha aims to keep BAN calm

February 19, 2011 - India won by 87 runs

It was the first match of the 2011 World Cup and hosts India took on co-hosts Bangladesh with the 2007 loss still fresh in everyone’s memories. Bangladesh won the toss and sent India to bat first and Virender Sehwag (175) and Virat Kohli (100) ensured that Bangladesh had a mammoth 371 to chase.

Bangladesh lost by 87 runs but the total finally helped India get the monkey off their back of conceding the maximum number of runs in the opening game of a World Cup (334 in 60 overs against England in the 1975 World Cup). Kohli also became the first Indian to score a century in a World Cup debut match.

READ | ICC Champions Trophy: Virat Kohli looks to MS Dhoni for inspiration

March 16, 2012 - Bangladesh won by 5 wickets

Although Bangladesh created an upset and won the Asia Cup tie, this game would still be fondly remembered by a number of Indians as Sachin Tendulkar became the first cricketer to record 100 international centuries. Having been sent in to bat after losing the toss, Tendulkar (114) and Virat Kohli (66) provided India a brilliant start before Suresh Raina (51) helped them reach 289 in 50 overs.

Sachin Tendulkar (R) completed 100 international centuries during India’s 2012 Asia Cup match against Bangladesh.
Sachin Tendulkar (R) completed 100 international centuries during India’s 2012 Asia Cup match against Bangladesh. ( AFP/Getty Images )

But a scintillating knock of 70 from Tamim Iqbal coupled with vital contributions from Jahurul Islam (53), Nasir Hossain (54), Shakib Al Hasan (49) and Mushfiqur Rahim (46) meant Indians fell to their third defeat against Bangladesh in the ODI history.

March 19, 2015 - India won by 109 runs

It was a different sort of a century for Mahendra Singh Dhoni as India thrashed Bangladesh by 109 in the quarterfinal of the 2015 World Cup. The victory was the 100th as captain for India’s wicket-keeper batsman and he became only the third captain in history after Allan Border and Ricky Ponting to achieve the feat.

Rohit Sharma had scored a magnificent 137 as India put up 302 batting first before Umesh Yadav (4/31) sealed the fate of the match for the then defending champions.

READ | Richard Kettleborough and Kumar Dharamsena umpires for India-Bangladesh clash

June 21, 2015 - Bangladesh won by 6 wickets

India had lost the game of the three-match series and were in a rare must-win situation against Bangladesh to save the tournament. However, Mustafizur Rahman, who had picked up five in the preceding game, also his debut match, ran through the Indian batting order once again with six wickets as India were bundled for just 200 runs.

Rain played a bit of spoilsport and the target was reduced to 200 in 47 overs, but Shakib Al Hasan (51*) ensured that there were no major upsets as they pulled off their first bilateral series win over India in style. The win was also their 10th consecutive home win and had handed them the required point to participate in the ongoing Champions Trophy.

First Published: Jun 14, 2017 10:00 IST