Who has the biggest victory margin in Lok Sabha election 2024? | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Who has the biggest victory margin in Lok Sabha election 2024?

Jun 07, 2024 05:53 PM IST

Sanjay Lalwani is not the winner with the biggest victory margin if NOTA is considered. That credit goes to Congress' Rakibul Hussain.

Sanjay Lalwani has been credited with the biggest victory margin in the recently concluded Lok Sabha election. His victory margin of 11,75,092 votes comes against his closest rival Sanjay Solanki, a Bahujan Samaj Party who got 51,659 votes in Madhya Pradesh’s Indore constituency.

A view of the Lok Sabha in the new Parliament building. (File Photo)
A view of the Lok Sabha in the new Parliament building. (File Photo)

However, the NOTA option got 2,18,674 votes in Indore, making it the runner up in the constituency. Taking that into account, Lalwani's victory margin is 10,08,077. Therefore, the biggest win title goes to Congress’ Rakibul Hussain who won from Assam’s Dhubri constituency with a margin of 10,12 476 votes.

Hussain, aged 59, was among the 13 candidates from Assam’s Dhubri constituency. His closest rival for the seat was Mohammed Badruddin Ajmal, a perfume baron and former Lok Sabha MP, who polled 4,59,409 votes.

Read: Modi speaks of consensus as NDA elects him as leader ahead of his inauguration

Before running for the general assembly polls, Hussain has represented the Samaguri assembly segment in the Assam Legislative Assembly since 2021. He also served as the minister of state for jail and home guards, border area development during the Tarun Gogoi government from 2002 to 2006.

From 2006 to 2011, Hussain served as minister of environment and forest, information and public relations in the state.

Here are the other leaders who won with big victory margins:

Shivraj Singh Chouhan: Former Madhya Pradesh chief minister and five-time MP Chouhan won in his sixth parliamentary electoral bid from the Vidisha constituency with a total of 1,116,460 votes. His rival for the seat was former Lok Sabha MP and veteran Congress leader, Pratap Bhanu Sharma, who lost by 8, 21,408 votes. The Vidisha constituency is considered Chouhan’s stronghold, where he secured victories in the 1991, 1996, 1998, 1999, and 2004 Lok Sabha elections.

CR Patil: President of BJP Gujarat state unit since 2020 and sitting MP from Navasri, Patil won with the biggest victory margin 7.73 lakh votes in the state. His nearest rival Naishadhbhai Bhupatbhai Desai, a Congress candidate, received 2,57,514 votes.

Amit Shah: BJP leader and former Union home minister Amit Shah won the Gandhinagar Lok Sabha constituency of Gujarat for a second consecutive term by a margin of 7,44,716 votes securing 10,10,972 of total votes polled. Shah’s nearest rival for the seat was Congress party’s Sonal Patel, who received 2,66,256 votes. Shah was among the fourteen candidates in the seat.

Abhishek Banerjee: Trinamool Congress (TMC) MP and national general secretary Abhishek Banerjee won West Bengal’s Diamond Harbour constituency by a margin of 7,10,930 votes in the Lok Sabha election. He received 10,48,230 of the total votes polled, while his rival Abhijit Das, a BJP candidate, polled 3,37,300 votes.

Read more: TDP seeks five cabinet berths at Centre, two for its ally Jana Sena

Biplab Kumar Deb: Former Tripura chief minister and BJP leader Biplab Kumar Deb won the Tripura West Lok Sabha seat received 8,81,341 of the total votes polled and won with a margin of 6,11,578 votes. His nearest rival for the seat was Congress party’s Asish Kumar Saha, who received 6,11,578 in the Lok Sabha election.

Hemang Joshi: Bharatiya Janata Party’s Hemang Joshi claimed a clear victory in Vadodara constituency of Gujarat. He received 8,73,189 of the total votes polled and won by a margin of 5,82,126 votes, defeating Padhiyar Jashpalsinh Mahendrasinh, who polled 2,91,063.

Brijmohan Agrawal: A BJP candidate and education minister of Chhattisgarh, Agrawal was contesting from Raipur Lok Sabha constituency. He won by a margin of 5,75, 285, and his closet rival Vikas Upadhyay of the Congress party polled 4,75,066

Sasikanth Senthil: Former IAS officer and Congress candidate Sasikanth Senthil emerged as the candidate with the highest victory margin in the Lok Sabha election in Tamil Nadu. Senthil, who was contesting from Tiruvallur Lok Sabha seat received 7,96,956 total votes and defeated BJP’s V Pon Balaganapathy by a margin of 5,72,155 votes.

Catch every big hit, every wicket with Crickit, a one stop destination for Live Scores, Match Stats, Infographics & much more. Explore now!

See more

Get Current Updates on India News, Budget 2024, Weather Today along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.

Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, July 21, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On