Five new Supreme Court judges take oath, strength now 28

The apex court worked for most of last year with 23 judges during Justice TS Thakur’s tenure as CJI.

india Updated: Feb 17, 2017 12:18 IST
Agencies, New Delhi
Five new judges were appointed to the Supreme Court, taking its working strength to 28.(HT Photo)

Five new Supreme Court judges were sworn in on Friday, taking the apex court’s working strength to 28 but still short of 31.

Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul, Navin Sinha, Mohan M Shantanagoudar, Deepak Gupta and S Abdul Nazeer were administered the oath of office by Chief Justice of India J S Khehar on Friday morning.

Justice Kaul was the Chief Justice of Madras High Court while Justice Sinha was the Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court.

Justices Shantanagoudar and Gupta were the chief justices of Kerala and Chhattisgarh high courts respectively and Justice Nazeer was a judge in the Karnataka High Court.

The sanctioned strength of judges in the apex court is 31, including the CJI.

President Pranab Mukherjee had recently signed their Warrants of Appointment.

Read| Supreme Court gets five new judges, HC CJs on hold for now

First Published: Feb 17, 2017 12:15 IST