New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 24, 2019-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Aug 24, 2019

Madhya Pradesh bypolls: Over 70% voting in by-polls in Mungaoli, Kolaras assembly seats

Thirteen candidates are in the fray in the election arena in Mungaoli, while 22 candidates are trying their luck in Kolaras.

india Updated: Feb 24, 2018 19:54 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Bhopal
People stand in queue to cast their vote at a polling booth in Kolaras.
People stand in queue to cast their vote at a polling booth in Kolaras.(Twitter/ANI Photo)

Bypolls to Mungaoli and Kolaras Assembly constituencies in Madhya Pradesh on Saturday recorded 77% and 70% voter turnout respectively.

An Election Commission official said minor clashes between political workers were reported from some areas.

While Ashoknagar district collector KVS Choudary said 77.05% polling was recorded in Mungaoli, Shivpuri collector Tarun Rathi told PTI that the turn-out in Kolaras was 70.4%.

Outcome of the two by-elections would be watched keenly as a possible pointer to people’s mood ahead of the Assembly elections in the BJP-ruled state, due later this year.

The ruling BJP and the opposition Congress are engaged in a direct fight in the two seats.

The Congress has fielded Mahendra Singh Yadav from Kolaras and Brijendra Singh Yadav from Mungaoli, while the BJP has fielded Baisahab Yadav from Mungaoli and Devendra Jain from Kolaras.

Overall, 13 candidates are in the fray in Mungaoli and 22 in Kolaras. Counting of votes would take place on February 28.

The bypolls were necessitated due to the death of Congress’s Mungaoli MLA Mahendra Singh Kalukheda and its Kolaras MLA Ram Singh Yadav.

Both seats are in the Guna Lok Sabha constituency, represented by Jyotiraditya Scindia.

First Published: Feb 24, 2018 14:53 IST

more from india