Today in New Delhi, India
May 23, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

2006 Harper Lee Award winner

Wayne Greenhaw has been awarded the Harper Lee Award, in recognition of his body of work.

india Updated: Mar 11, 2006 14:00 IST
Associated Press
Associated Press

Author Wayne Greenhaw has been named the 2006 recipient of the Harper Lee Award, given in recognition of a writer's significant body of work.

Greenhaw has published 16 books of fiction and non-fiction, including The Thunder of Angels, a recently released history of the Montgomery bus boycott that he co-wrote with Donnie Williams. The award winner is selected by the executive committee of The Alabama Writers' Forum, a state-wide literary arts service organization, from nominations submitted from the field. The award is conferred at the annual Alabama Writers' Symposium, hosted by Alabama Southern Community College in Monroeville, May 4-6. Greenhaw is the ninth recipient of the award, named in honour of the woman who wrote the best-selling novel, To Kill A Mockingbird. Previous winners include Albert Murray, Madison Jones, Helen Norris, Sena Jeter Naslund, Mary Ward Brown, Rodney Jones, Sonia Sanchez and Andrew Hudgins.

First Published: Mar 10, 2006 16:38 IST