75,618 polling booths sensitive in 3rd phase of LS polls: EC

Published on Apr 23, 2004 07:59 PM IST

75,618 polling stations have been declared as sensitive and hyper sensitive by the EC in 11 states going to polls during the third phase.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByPress Trust of India, New Delhi

As many as 75,618 polling stations have been declared as "sensitive" and "hyper sensitive" by the Election Commission in 11 states that are going to polls during the third phase on April 26.

In a total of 1,72,723 polling stations, 47,499 have been declared as sensitive while 28,119 as hyper sensitive with Uttar Pradesh having the highest number of 8,731 hyper sensitive and 8,649 sensitive polling booths.

Bihar follows a close second with 8,463 hyper sensitive and 6,166 sensitive polling stations and Karnataka third with 3,503 hyper sensitive and 5,476 sensitive booths.

A highlight of the announcement was that almost all polling booths in Orissa have been declared sensitive. While the State has 12,509 polling booths, 12,197 of them have fallen in that category. Not a single booth, however, has been listed as hyper sensitive.

Andhra Pradesh facing Left-wing extremism has 3,081 hyper sensitive and 4,198 sensitive booths.

Same is the case with naxalite affected Jharkhand where 1,789 and 4,235 booths have been categorised as hyper and sensitive respectively. The state has a total of 9,313 booths.

In Assam, out of a total of 9,334 polling stations, 1,943 are hyper sensitive while 3,008 are sensitive.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, October 03, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals