New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 15, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Oct 15, 2019

A brief history of ICC Champions Trophy

This is the fifth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, which is staged every two years.

india Updated: Oct 09, 2006 14:38 IST

This is the fifth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, which is staged every two years.

Also known as the mini World Cup, the event was originally introduced as the ICC Knock-out tournament in 1998.

It has now evolved into a round-robin competition with teams split into pool groups based on their official ICC One-Day International rankings. The tournament was renamed for the 2002 event to reflect the new competition format.

1998 (Dhaka): South Africa beat the West Indies by four wickets in the final, thanks largely to Jacques Kallis' 5-30 and Hansie Cronje's unbeaten 61 in a successful run chase. Windies opener Philo Wallace hit 103 in vain as the Windies posted a testing target of 245.

2000 (Nairobi): New Zealand all-rounder Chris Cairns helped his team get the better of India by four wickets in the final, confirming the Kiwis' emergence as a major force in one-day cricket with their first 'world' success.

After a hectic opening stand of 141 between Sourav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar, India posted 264 for six. But Cairns, who came in at the midway point of the reply with 135 for five on the board, finished unbeaten on 102 as the Black Caps finished the job in the last over.

2002 (Colombo): Referred to as the ICC Champions Trophy for the first time, the final between Sri Lanka and India ended in stalemate — forcing the two teams to share the Trophy after early-season Colombo monsoons washed out play on successive days.
2004 (London): West Indies beat England by two wickets in the final of the 2004 edition of the ICC Champions Trophy. West Indies kept their tryst with destiny and lifted their first world-level trophy in 25 years. It has been a long, long wait for cricket's greatest superpower to reassert itself on the world stage. Nineteen seventy-nine was almost forgotten.

And to be fair to the West Indies, they richly deserved to be champions. They have played with ebullient spirit and gritty commitment. On the way to the Champions Trophy final, they brushed aside Bangladesh (138 runs), South Africa (five wickets) and Pakistan (semi-final, seven wickets) in professional style and in the face of constant criticism from their former players.
While IDR Bradshaw was the man of the match, Ramnaresh Sarwan was declared the man of the tournament.

Despite failing to make much of an impression in today's final against England here, West Indies vice captain Ramnaresh Sarwan has been named the Player of the Tournament for his consistent performance in the ICC Champions Trophy.

Sarwan, 24, picked up a total of six points in the race to finish ahead of Australian pace bowler Michael Kasprowicz (five points) and England top order batsman Marcus Trescothick (four points).

First Published: Oct 01, 2006 18:56 IST

top news