Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 13, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Asian women among Euro toppers

Muriel Ghosh was a winner while Nipun Gupta was a strong contender for the European Women of Achievement Awards.

india Updated: Dec 29, 2003 12:17 IST

The European Women of Achievement Awards has over the years become one of the most prestigious annual events that highlights and celebrates milestones reached by women in arts and media, business, entrepreneurship and in Humanities and their professions. This year, too, the function was held at the Grosvenor House hotel on London's Park Lane with the Buckingham suite overflowing with celebrities and VIPs from all walks of life.

The winners, announced from the shortlist of 300 high-achievers included Muriel Ghosh, Managing Director of Emerging Markets, IMI International Ltd in the business category.

She has demonstrated particularly inspiring business leadership in opening up emerging economies in Eastern Europe, where she had to help, educate and guide colleagues, partners, suppliers and customers in these countries in the techniques and disciplines of free-market economies. This has been done through personal example, mentoring and ensuring that relevant training is provided.

A close runner for the award was another well-known Indian-origin solicitor Nipun Gupta who has made a name for herself as Mergers and Acquisitions/Regulatory/Corporate specialist. She won the Asian Women Achievements Award in May 2002. A senior associate with White and Case (one of the top three firms in the UK), Gupta is expected to break the glass barrier in the legal profession in this country.

The other winners included women who are at the top of their professions. They included Angela Mortimer, Chairman, Angela Mortimer plc in the Entrepreneur category.

Angela founded her company, an international recruitment consultancy, in 1976. By 2001 the company had offices in London, Birmingham, Manchester, Paris and Brussels and its turnover had grown to £30m.

The awards were announced and given away by Baroness O'Cathain, chairman of the judges panel.

First Published: Dec 27, 2003 21:39 IST