Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Aussies win first ODI by four wickets

Gilchrist smashed a half-century and Hogg claimed his 100th dismissal on Sunday as Australia beat Bangladesh by four wickets in the first limited-overs international.

india Updated: Apr 23, 2006 17:37 IST

Adam Gilchrist smashed a half-century and Bradley Hogg claimed his 100th dismissal on Sunday as Australia beat Bangladesh by four wickets in the first limited-overs international.

Australia reached their 196-run target in 44 overs after Hogg grabbed three scalps to help bundle Bangladesh out for a paltry 195 runs in 47 overs after skipper Habibul Bashar won the toss and elected to bat.

Bangladesh spinner Abdur Razzak grabbed three dismissals for 36 runs as Australia lost four wickets for 36 runs in 12 overs, after opening pair Gilchrist and Simon Katich combined for 97 runs from 68 balls.

Bangladesh got their first wicket when Razzak trapped man of the match Gilchrist lbw for 76, which came off 46 balls and included nine boundaries and five sixes.

Gilchrist hit his 45th one-day fifty off 28 balls, with eight boundaries and a pair of sixes.

Katich (18) was next to go, when Bashar easily caught his pull shot at mid-wicket off Mashrafe Bin Mortuza.

Razzak, a left-arm bowler, also trapped Andrew Symonds lbw for a duck and dismissed captain Ricky Ponting (14) in a similar fashion.

Michael Clarke (16)— playing with a head injury— was run out before last minute replacement Tushar Imran had Hogg (7) caught at mid-on by Syed Rasel.

Imran replaced all-rounder Alok Kapali, who was injured while warming-up just before the start of the match.

Brett Lee (12 not out), partnered by Michael Hussey (36 not out), hit a boundary to achieve the winning target with six overs remaining.

Mohammad Rafique, meanwhile, failed to take a wicket but became the most economic Bangladeshi bowler ever, with his spell of just 14 runs in 10 overs and an economy rate of 1.4.

Hogg's first victim at Chittagong's Shahid Ruhul Amin Stadium was Bashar, who scored a solid 52 before being stumped by wicketkeeper Gilchrist.

Bashar hit three boundaries and one six from 93 balls. Hogg then claimed the wickets of Imran (20) and Mortaza (1), to return figures of 3-37.

Lee, Symonds and Nathan Bracken had two wickets each, while Mitchell Johnson claimed his first-ever limited-overs dismissal by bowling Khaled Mashud (27).

Bracken, who was hit for 13 runs in his first over, struck the first blow by dismissing opener Rajin Saleh for seven. He also removed Mohammad Ashraful for five runs.

Lee dismissed opener Shahriar Nafees (16) and Aftab Ahmed (30). Symonds snared the wickets of Mohammad Rafique (8) and Syed Rasel for a duck.

The next two matches of the limited-overs series will be played at Fatullah near the capital Dhaka on April 26 and 28.



Shahriar Nafees c Gilchrist b Lee 16, Rajin Saleh c Lee b Bracken 7, Aftab Ahmed c Clarke b Lee 30, Mohammad Ashraful c Cullen b Bracken 5, Habibul Bashar st Gilchrist b Hogg 52, Tushar Imran c Gilchrist b Hogg 20, Khaled Mashud b Johnson 27, Mohammad Rafique c Hogg b Symonds 8, Mashrafe Bin Mortuza c Gilchrist b Hogg 1, Abdur Razzak not out 2, Syed Rasel c Gilchrist b Symonds 0, Extras: (lb-5, w-13, nb-9) 27,


(all out in 47 overs)


Fall of wickets: 1-26, 2-33, 3-52, 4-79, 5-116, 6-171, 7-182, 8-185, 9-194.

Bowling: Brett Lee 8-0-34-2, Nathan Bracken 8-2-30-2, Mitchell Johnson 7-0-34-1, Michael Hussey 3-0-13-0, Daniel Cullen 10-2-36-0, Bradley Hogg 10-1-37-3, Andrew Symonds 1-0-6-2.

Adam Gilchrist lbwRazzak 76, Simon Katich c Bashar b Mortuza 18, Michael Clarke run out 16, Andrew Symonds lbwRazzak 0, Ricky Ponting lbw Razzak 14, Michael Hussey not out 36, Bradley Hogg c Rasel b Imran 7, Brett Lee not out 12, Extras: (b-1, lb-7, w-6, nb-3) 17, Total: (for six wickets in 44 overs) 196.

Fall of wickets: 1-97, 2-101, 3-109, 4-133, 5-155, 6-174.

Bowling: Syed Rasel 4-0-35-0, Mashrafe Bin Mortuza 7-0-58-1, Abdur Razzak 10-1-36-3, Mohammad Rafique 10-1-14-0, Tushar Imran 8-0-24-1, Rajin Saleh 5-0-21-0.

Umpires: Ian Howell (South Africa), and Mahbubur Rahman (Bangladesh).

TV Umpire: Nadir Shah (Bangladesh). Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand).

First Published: Apr 23, 2006 11:10 IST