Bangla want win Murali's landmark Test

Bangladesh are hoping to prove themselves against Sri Lanka in the first Test which would be Muralitharan's 100th.
HT Image
HT Image
Published on Feb 27, 2006 06:56 PM IST
Copy Link
None | ByAgence France-Presse, Cjittagong

Bangladesh are hoping to inspire themselves with their one-day wins when they take on Sri Lanka in a two-Test series starting on Tuesday.

"Our Test record is not good but we are confident of doing better after our recent performances in one-dayers," said captain Habibul Bashar, who led his team to their first international win over Sri Lanka last week.

The home side won the second one-dayer of a three-match series in Bogra on Wednesday to keep alive the series, a rarity for Bangladesh.

They eventually lost 2-1 but after wins over India and Australia in the past two seasons, they have shown their capability of springing the odd surprise in the one-day form of the game.

But they have yet to turn the tables on any big team in Tests, having lost 35 of their matches, 24 by innings margins.

Their only win was against Zimbabwe and they have yet to save a Test against Sri Lanka after five away matches.

Sri Lankan skipper Mahela Jayawardene though said his team would not take things easy in the Tests.

"We have to work hard and need to show patience, temperament and maturity. But the presence of players like Muttiah Muralitharan is always a big morale booster for us in Test matches."

Muralitharan, who was rested for the one-dayers, will be playing his 100th Test.

The ace off-spinner, who has taken 584 wickets, is second on the list of wicket-takers in Tests behind Australian leg-spinner Shane Warne (659 in 135 Tests).

The second Test will be held in the northern city of Bogra from March 8.

The teams (from):

Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar (capt), Khaled Mashud, Shahriar Nafees, Rajin Saleh, Javed Omar, Nafees Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Aftab Ahmed, Alok Kapali, Mohammad Rafique, Enamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Syed Rasel, Tapash Baisya, Shahadat Hossain.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Kumar Sangakkara, Upul Tharanga, Michael Vandort, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Prasanna Jayawardene, Muttiah Muralitharan, Malinga Bandara, Farveez Maharoof, Dammika Prasad, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Sajeewa Weerakoon.


Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, January 18, 2022