BJD-BJP bounce back to power in Orissa

Published on May 13, 2004 08:56 PM IST

Resisting the countrywide anti-incumbency wave against the NDA, the BJD-BJP alliance has bounced back to power in Orissa.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByPress Trust of India, Bhubaneswar

Resisting the countrywide anti-incumbency wave against the NDA, the BJD-BJP alliance today bounced back to power in Orissa securing majority in the 147-member state Assembly.

The combine which together bagged 81 seats till 1830 hrs, was on its way to get a comfortable majority as it was leading in 11 other seats.

BJD alone won 52 seats and BJP 29.

Although it improved its tally this time, Congress trailed much behind the BJD-BJP combine capturing 32 seats till the evening and was leading in another five seats.

Congress had 25 seats in the dissolved House.

Its alliance partners OGP, CPI, CPI-M and JMM won five seats and were ahead in four.

Chief Minister and BJD President Naveen Patnaik has taken an invincible lead in Hinjili constitucny.

OPCC President and former Chief Minister J B Patnaik won from Begunia defeating his nearest BJD rival Prasant Jagadev by 1991 votes.

Despite conceding some ground to Congress-led alliance, BJD-BJP which together had 106 in the assembly last time, managed to maintain its hold in the state.

The Chief Minister, who thanked the people for reposing their faith once again on the BJD-BJP coalition, said that he had provided a 'transparent' administration and 'good law and order' in the state.

"The BJD-BJP government worked hard for the progress and development of the state and had taken up many welfare schemes for the poor", Patnaik told newsmen here.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, February 09, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals