HT Image
HT Image

Chronology of Naxal attacks in recent years

Here is a chronology of naxal attacks in the recent years.
PTI | By HT Correspondent
UPDATED ON OCT 27, 2007 12:48 PM IST

September 7, 2007: Former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Janardhan Reddy and his wife N Rajyalakshmi, escaped unhurt while three Congress workers were killed in a Maoist attack in Nellore district in Andhra Pradesh.

July 10, 2007: Naxalites attacked a police team with light machine guns and mortar bombs in a dense forest area of Chhattisgarh, killing at least 24 security personnel.

July 1, 2007: Nine persons, including five policemen, were killed and as many were wounded as CPI-Maoist rebels carried out simultaneous attacks on a police station and an outpost in Sasaram in Bihar's Rohtas district and fled with arms and ammunition.

April 28, 2007: Five security personnel were killed in a landmine blast triggered by Maoist rebels in Michgaon village of Kanker district, about 175 km south of Raipur in Chattisgarh

Mar 16, 2007: Maoists attacked a police post in the remote jungles of in Rani Bodli in Chattisgarh with gunfire, hand renades and gasoline bombs, killing at least 49 people.

March 5, 2007: Naxalites shot dead Jharkhand Mukti Morcha's Lok Sabha MP Sunil Kumar Mahato. Two of his bodyguards and a party colleague were also killed in the attack when they were witnessing a football match organised to mark Holi at a village in Jamshedpur in Jharkhand.

July 17, 2006 : At least 25 people were killed and 80 injured, 32 of them seriously, while about 250 people were missing following an attack by some 800 armed Naxalites in Dantewada district of Chattisgarh.

February 9, 2006: Eight Central Industrial Security Force personnel were killed and eight others injured when naxalites raided a godown of the National Mineral Development Corporation (NMDC) and took away explosives from a village near Bailadila in Jagdalpur in Chattisgarh.

1 March 2005: In a major attack, naxalites shot dead eight villagers and blew up a forest rest house, injuring a CRPF constable in Andhra Pradesh.

November 13, 2005: Hundreds of activists of the banned Communist Party of India (Maoist) attacked the police lines in south Bihar's Jehanabad district.

Story Saved