New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 09, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019

Cong ahead in Nagaland

The Congress is ahead in Nagaland winning 11 seats and leading in 10 in the 60-member Assembly.

india Updated: Mar 08, 2008 18:03 IST


The Congress was on Saturday ahead in Nagaland winning 11 seats and leading in 10 in the 60-member Assembly, while rival Nagaland People's Front won three seats and was ahead in 15. The BJP was leading in two seats, the NCP in two and Independents in three.

The NPF headed the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) government before imposition of President's Rule. The NPF, BJP, JD(U) and the NCP forged a pre-poll alliance, but were contesting on separate manifestos.

Prominent winners for the NPF were its president Shurehozelie who retained the Northern Angami I seat for the sixth consecutive time.

Congress winners were former chief minister KL Chishi from Dimapur-I and youth Congress leader and Goa governor SC Jamir's son C Apok Jamir from Mokokchung Town seat.

Polling for the 60-member assembly was held on March five. Counting of votes for three assembly segments under Zunheboto district would begin on Sunday with repoll held there on Saturday amid tight security. Elections were held under President's rule for the fourth time in the state.

Party position | 1700 hours
Total number of seats 60
Elections held 60
Counting held 57
Results declared 35
Congress 14 (leading in 7) Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF) 15 (leading in 9) NCP 1