Disgruntled BJP ticket aspirants spew venom
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Disgruntled BJP ticket aspirants spew venom

As expected, announcement of BJP candidates for Ganganagar and Hanumangarh seats has irked supporters of aspirants who failed to win trust of party high command.

india Updated: Nov 08, 2003 17:11 IST

BJP workers burn the effigy of Ghanshyam Tiwari in front of the party office in Jaipur on Friday. They were protesting as Tiwari was given the party ticket from Sanganer instead of a local leader

The BJP would have to contend with bickering and rebel candidates on its way to the December 1 Assembly elections. As expected, the announcement of the BJP candidates for Ganganagar and Hanumangarh Assembly constituencies has irked the supporters of aspirants who failed to win the trust of the party high command.

The resentment among the party members is likely to have a spurt in rebel candidates who would make dent in support base of candidates fielded by the BJP.

The allotment of ticket for Sriganganagar seat to Surendra Singh Rathore, who contested the last elections as independent candidate, has taken a dangerous proposition as various leaders has threatened to commit self-immolation against the party’s decision. The party workers are annoyed over the allotment of ticket to Rathore, clipping the wings of the city president Manmohan Sharma Mannu.

Disappointed by the party’s decision, Mannu is likely to contest the election under the banner of Indian National Lok Dal or Social Justice Front.

The former district head Sitaram Maurya too is all set to go Mannu’s way. Enraged by the allotment of the ticket to OP Mahindra from Kesarisinghpur, Maurya has decided to try his luck with Indian National Lok Dal.

But the district president Surendra Pal Titi has truckload of problems.

In spite of losing the elections consecutively on the last two occasions, the party has again staked its trust on him. Enraged by the party’s move, the senior BJP leader Dr Ashok Gupta has decided to contest against Titi as an independent candidate. That is not all, other ticket-seekers including Gurbalpal Singh, Angrez Singh and Iqbal Singh Kung have joined hands to open a front against Titi. Gurbalpal Singh said strategy would be chalked out in one or two days’ time.

Supporters of former MLA Amarchand Middha from Suratgarh carried their protest to Suratgarh after creating ruckus before the press in New Delhi. Now the official candidate Ashok Nagpal fears a mass protest as various senior leaders started polarising to open a front against Nagpal.

The selection of former minister Gurjant Singh Brar for Sangria seat in Hanumangarh district is no different in terms of attracting ire of party workers and other aspirants. Brar faces threat from Krishna Jakhar and BM Saharan who have good support at grassroots.

The party candidate from Hanumangarh deputy leader of opposition Dr Rampratap would have to face the squabbling of deputy chairman of municipality Yadvendra Sharma Advocate who has declared to contest election on SJF ticket.

Meanwhile in Udaipur, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) workers are holding protests at the district president's house and party office for imposing candidates for the forthcoming Assembly elections on them.

They had threatened to resign from the party if the selection of candidates is not reviewed.

The party has stirred a hornet’s nest with the nomination of Ex Zilla Pramukh Vandana Meena from Udaipur rural seat. The supporters of ex-minister and last elections BJP candidate Chunnilal Garasia today staged dharna outside the residence of BJP district president (city) Madanlal Mundra and asked the party to reconsider its decision. Badgav Mandal president Khubilal Paliwal, Girv Mandal president Thakt Singh Shaktawat and Rural Mandal president Prakash Agarwal led the protest.

Party workers from Salumber staged dharna outside the party office near Patel Circle in Udaipur city and some of them handed over their resignation to district president (rural) Hari Singh Chauhan in protest against the nomination of Arjun Meena from Salumber seat. The BJP workers were demanding ticket for Bhoolchand Meena from Salumber. The protest from salumber was spearheaded by Salumber rural, city and Kurawad mandals.

District party president Madanlal Mundra also faced with the agitating workers that the Central and State leadership overlooked the genuine workers in the allotment of tickets. He said the party district leadership has forwarded the names of Mangilal Joshi and Chunnilal Garasia from Udaipur city and Udaipur rural seats respectively.

But, both of them were ignored.

First Published: Nov 08, 2003 16:59 IST