East meet North Zone in Deodhar Trophy

Star studded North Zone have an edge over East in the Deodhar Trophy last league tie to be played at the SMS stadium on Thursday.

india Updated: Mar 08, 2006 13:59 IST

Star studded North Zone have an edge over East Zone in the Deodhar Trophy last league tie to be played at the SMS stadiumon Thursday.

North Zone who have players like Gautam Gambhir, VRV Singh, Pankaj Dharmani and Ritendra Sodhi in their ranks, have nine points from three matches.

Beating East Zone and expecting an unexpected defeat of West Zone against South Zone at Udaipur may see north zone becoming the champions.

West Zone are on top with 12 points winning all their three encounters while North Zone has nine points from as many matches.

East Zone consisting of former India skipper Sourav Gangulyhave lost all their three encounters so far.

This is the last chance for them to save some prestige against North Zone East Zone had experienced a bitter defeat at the hands of lowly placed Central Zone with the latter recording the only victory against them two days backwith the last ball six by local lad Dishant Yagnik off Ganguly.

The two teams have their practice session on Wednesday but both of them preferred to name their final elevenon Thursdaybefore start of the match. Ganguly is expected to join his teamon Wednesdayevening.


North Zone:
Mithun Minhas (captain), Pankaj Dharmani (vice captain), Sumit Sharma, Ritendra Sodhi, Gaurav Vashishtha,Shikhar Dhawan, Gagan Deep Singh, Amit Mishra,Jogendra Sharma, Yashpal Sharma, Mahesh Rawat, Abid Nabi, Gautam Gambhir, VRV Singh, Vimal Bhatia.

East Zone: Deep Das Gupta (captain), Saurav Ganguly, Rohan Gavaskar, Shubhomay Das, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Manoj Tiwari, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Rajiv Kumar, Basant Sarvanan, Saurashish Lahiri, Sib Sagar Singh, Shiv Shankar Paul, Randev Bose, Mihir Divadkar, S Nadim, Timir Chand.

First Published: Mar 08, 2006 13:59 IST