Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Guatemala-Venezuela contest still deadlocked

Even after 13 rounds of voting, the two countries have not obtained a two-thirds majority in the contest to fill a non-permanent seat in the UN Security Council.

india Updated: Oct 20, 2006 12:46 IST
United News of India
United News of India

Even after 13 rounds of voting in as many as 35 rounds, neither Guatemala nor Venezuela had yet obtained a two-thirds majority in the contest to fill a non-permanent seat in the Security Council allocated to the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States.

However, Guatemala was maintaining its lead over Venezuela but falling short of the necessary majority of ballots of members present and voting.

In the 35th round on Thursday, when 123 votes would have been enough to secure victory, Guatemala obtained 103 votes and Venezuela received 81.

There were seven abstentions. Guatemala has led in every round so far, with the exception of the sixth round on Monday, when the two countries were tied. Voting will resume on Wednesday.

Guatemala and Venezuela are contending to serve as a non-permanent Council member for a two-year term starting January 1, 2007, replacing Argentina. It is the only seat not yet determined.

Balloting will continue until a state from the region achieves the required majority.

There is no limit to the number of rounds of voting and in 1979-80 there were a record 155 ballots before Mexico was chosen from the Latin American and Caribbean Group to serve a two-year term.

On Monday, Assembly members, following an agreed geographic allocation, elected Belgium, Indonesia, Italy and South Africa to serve as non-permanent members starting on January 1.

They will replace Denmark, Greece, Japan and Tanzania when their terms end on December 31.

The Council's five other non-permanent members, whose terms end on December 31, 2007 are Congo, Ghana, Peru, Qatar and Slovakia.

The five permanent members, which are the only members with veto power when voting, are China, France, Russia, Britain and the United States.

First Published: Oct 20, 2006 12:46 IST