HISTORY | Latest News India - Hindustan Times


PTI | Byhindustantimes.com, New Delhi
Dec 10, 2005 07:58 PM IST

It all started way back in 1951 as part of that year's Festival of Britain celebrations. Officially titled the 'Festival Bikini Contest,' it was the British press who dubbed it 'Miss World.'

It all started way back in 1951 as part of that year's Festival of Britain celebrations. Officially titled the "Festival Bikini Contest," it was the British press who dubbed it "Miss World." The media frenzy welcomed a global audience bigger than international events like the World Cup and the Olympic Games.

HT Image
HT Image

Fifty years later, it attracts an annual audience of 2.5 billion people. Founder Eric Morley, a former bingo hall manager, originally intended the contest to be a one-time event. But when the Miss Universe Pageant entered the equation the following year, he decided to make his show an annual one.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's general elections, only on the HT App. Download Now! Download Now!

For Eric and his wife, Julia, it then became a life's work and passion. Here's a brief look at the history of the pageant over the years.




1951 - Kerstin Haakansson, Sweden

1952 - May Louise Flodin, Sweden

1953 - Denise Perrier, France

1954 - Antigone Costanda, Egypt

1955 - Carmen Susana Zubillaga, Venezuela

1956 - Petra Schürmann, Germany

1957 - Marita Lindahl, Finland

1958 - Penelope Anne Coelen, South Africa

1959 - Corine Rottschaefer, Holland

1960 - Norma Gladys Cappagli, Argentina

1961 - Rosemarie Frankland, United Kingdom

1962 - Catharina Johanna Lodders, Holland

1963 - Carole Joan Crawford, Jamaica

1964 - Ann Sidney, United Kingdom

1965 - Lesley Langley, United Kingdom

1966 - Reita Faria, India

1967 - Madeleine Hartog-Bel Houghton, Peru

1968 - Penelope Plummer, Australia

1969 - Eve Reuber-Staier, Austria

1970 - Jennifer Josephine Hosten, Grenada

1971 - Lúcia Tavares Peterlle, Brazil

1972 - Belinda Roma Green, Australia

1973 - Marjorie (Marji) Wallace, United States

1974 - Helen Elizabeth Morgan, United Kingdom

1975 - Wilnelia Merced Cruz, Puerto Rico

1976 - Cynthia Jean Breakspeare, Jamaica

1977 - Mary Ann-Catrin Stavin, Sweden

1978 - Silvana Suárez Clarence, Argentina

1979 - Gina Ann Swainson, Bermuda

1980 - Gabriella Brum, Germany

1981 - Carmen Josefina (Pilín) León Crespo, Venezuela

1982 - Mariasela Alvarez Lebrón, Dominican Republic

1983 - Sarah-Jane Hutt, United Kingdom

1984 - Astrid Carolina Herrara Irrazábal, Venezuela

1985 - Holmfridur Karlsdóttir, Iceland

1986 - Giselle Jeanne-Marie Laronde, Trinidad & Tobago

1987 - Ulla Weigerstorfer, Austria

1988 - Linda Pétursdóttir, Iceland

1989- Aneta-Beata Kreglicka, Poland

1990 - Gina Marie Tolleson, United States

1991 - Ninibeth Beatriz Leal Jiménez, Venezuela

1992 - Yuliya Alexandrovna Kourotchkina, Russia

1993 - Lisa Hanna, Jamaica

1994 - Aishwarya Rai, India

1995 - Jacqueline Maria Aguilera Marcano, Venezuela

1996 - Irene Skliva, Greece

1997 - Diana Hayden, India

1998 -Linor Abargil, Israel

1999 - Yukta Mookhey, India

2000 - Priyanka Mini Chopra, India

2001 - Asenite Darego, Nigeria

2002 - Diana Hayden, India

2003 - Rosanna Davison, Ireland


Tell us what your First Vote will stand for in a short video & get a chance to be featured on HT’s social media handles. Click here to know more!

Get Current Updates on India News, Elections 2024, Lok Sabha Election 2024 Live, Delhi Election 2024 Live, Election 2024 Date, Weather Today along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.
Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, May 25, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On