Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 22, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India to tour New Zealand in 2008

An agreement was reached between BCCI and NZC to postpone the tour as a result of a change in the schedule of the 2007 World Cup.

india Updated: Jan 19, 2006 16:11 IST
Indo-Asian News Service
Indo-Asian News Service

India's tour of New Zealand next year has been postponed to December 2008.

The tour, scheduled under the Future Tour Programme (FTP) of the International Cricket Council (ICC), comprised three Tests and five one-day internationals. FTP comprises two five-year cycles of home-and-away matches for the 10 Test playing countries.

India will now tour New Zealand in December 2008, New Zealand Cricket (NZC) said in a statement received here.

NZC chief executive Martin Snedden said an agreement was reached between the Board of Control for Cricket India (BCCI) and NZC towards the end of last year to postpone the tour as a result of a change in the schedule of the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies.

"A decision was made by the ICC towards the end of 2004 to bring the start of the World Cup forward by one month, to start the first week of March 2007 rather than the first week of April as originally scheduled," he said.

"The flow on effect of this ICC decision was to leave insufficient time for the scheduled FTP tour of New Zealand by India to take place during the mid-February to late March 2007 window originally provided for," he pointed out.

Snedden said that following the ICC decision NZC and the BCCI discussed various options before agreeing that the tour should take place in December 2008.

"(New Zealand) are participating in the ICC Champions Trophy in India from late October to early November 2006, which will be followed by an inbound tour to New Zealand from December 2006 to early January 2007," he said.

New Zealand will then take part in the Tri-series in Australia from mid January to mid February 2007, also involving England.

This is likely to be followed by the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy series in New Zealand in the second half of February 2007. Australia and New Zealand contest Test series for this trophy.

First Published: Jan 19, 2006 11:03 IST