Jayalalithaa names RS candidates, to support CPM

The ruling AIADMK today announced four candidates for the Rajya Sabha (RS) elections to fill six vacancies from Tamil Nadu.
HT Image
HT Image
Updated on Jan 23, 2014 04:52 PM IST
Copy Link
Hindustan Times | By, Chennai

The ruling AIADMK on Thursday announced four candidates for the Rajya Sabha (RS) elections to fill six vacancies from Tamil Nadu.

On February 7, the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha will be held to fill 55 vacancies from 16 states as the term of office of these members will expire between April 2 and 12.

In a press statement, chief minister and AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa said Tirunelveli district secretary S Muthukaruppan, party youth wing leader N Chinnadurai, AIADMK women’s wing secretary L Sasikala Pushpa and Tirunelveli district women’s wing secretary Vijila Sathyanand were the party candidates for the RS polls.

Jayalalithaa also said her party would support the candidate to be nominated by the Communist Party of India (Marxist) from Tamil Nadu.

On Tuesday, a CPM delegation led by state unit secretary G Ramakrishnan had met Jayalalithaa at the latter’s camp office at Kodanadu in Nilgiris district, seeking the AIADMK’s support.

Given the AIADMK’s massive majority in the Tamil Nadu assembly, the party is likely to win all four seats it has chosen to contest while also ensuring the victory of the fifth candidate to be nominated by the CPM.

The CPM has 10 MLAs while the Communist Party of India (CPI) has eight members in the assembly.

The AIADMK’s support to the CPM is being seen as a precursor to a possible alliance between the two parties for the Lok Sabha elections.

Opposition DMK with 23 MLAs has announced former MP Trichy N Siva as its candidate and is banking on its allies for his victory.

It is yet to be seen what stand principal opposition party DMDK – led by actor Vijayakanth and with 28 MLAs, including seven rebels – will take for the RS polls, as also the Congress with its five MLAs and the PMK with three members.

On April 2, six Rajya Sabha seats from Tamil Nadu will be vacated after the term of office expires for N Balaganga (AIADMK), TK Rangarajan (CPM), Union minister GK Vasan and former Union minister Jayanthi Natarajan (both from Congress), and Vasanthi Stanley and AA Jinnah (both from DMK).

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, January 21, 2022