Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 22, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Left sweeps JNUSU polls

The students' wings of two Left parties, the SFI and the AISF, sweep all the four top posts in JNU Students' Union polls.

india Updated: Nov 11, 2006 20:18 IST
Indo-Asian News Service
Indo-Asian News Service

The students' wings of two Left parties on Saturday swept all the four top posts in the Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) Students' Union, with an American student being elected as vice president of the body.

The Student Federation of India (SFI) and All India Students' Association (AISA) won two seats each among the central posts after the elections held on Thursday, though they faced a tough contest from the Youth for Equality (YFE), a newly formed group that was at the forefront of an anti-quota agitation in the campus earlier this year.

SFI is the students' wing of the Communist Party of India-Marxist, while AISA is affiliated with the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist).

Dhananjay Tripathi of SFI is the new president, while Tyler Walker Williams of AISA the new vice-president. An M Phil student of Hindi, Walker from the US was elected as a councillor last year.

Sandeep Singh of AISA has been elected secretary and SFI's Jyotsna the joint secretary.

In the 2005 election, AISA had bagged the president's post, while SFI had won the other three seats.

YFE candidate Sonika Tyagi lost the presidential post by nearly 100 votes while its joint secretary candidate Bobita Sharma lost by just 20 votes.

"Left candidates might have won the election this time but we have put our stamp by coming second in the tally for the three top posts. The pseudo-ideologies of mainstream political parties will soon be exposed," said Amit Srivastav, chief coordinator of the YFE forum, which has won five councillor posts.

The National Students Union of India (NSUI) and Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the students' wings of the Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) respectively, were routed once again in the polls.

First Published: Nov 11, 2006 20:02 IST